Sydney Law School team wins the 2013 Shine Lawyers National Torts Moot

14 August 2013

From left to right: Jackson Wherrett (Team Coach), Alice Zhou, Proteek Chowdhury, Thomas Farmakis and William Hanna

Congratulations to our Shine Moot Team on winning the 2013 Shine Lawyers National Torts Moot.

The team, comprising Alice Zhou (Science/Law II), Thomas Farmakis (Commerce/Law III), William Hanna (Economics/Law II) and Proteek Chowdhury (Economics/Law II), defeated the team from UNSW in a very close moot.

This followed winning all four of the preliminary rounds (against Waikato University, Queensland University of Technology, Southern Cross University and Griffith University), as well as the Semi-Final against UTS.

Thomas Farmakis was also named Best Speaker in the Final.

"All members of the team did the university very proud, and they all put a tremendous amount of work into the competition," said Jackson Wherrett, 2013 Shine Moot Coach.

"I said to them that sometimes the hard work pays off, and sometimes it doesn't, so it's very nice when it does."

Further information on the Shine Lawyers National Torts Moot

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 2e44012e4c215d12233838523d03260600175d561d1d6723023e463505