2013 Jessup Moot Competition

3 May 2013

The 2013 Sydney Law School Jessup Team: Harrison Grace, Hannah Ryan, Kathleen Heath, Rob Pietriche and Jackson Wherrett

Sydney Law School would like to thank its donors who gave so generously towards our 2013 Jessup Moot Team.

  • Michael Rose, Chief Executive Partner, Allens Linklaters

  • Philip Selth, Executive Director, New South Wales Bar Association

  • Ms Laila A De Melo, Arnold Bloch Leiber

  • Dr David M J Bennett AC, QC

  • The Australian & New Zealand Society of International Law

"Their valued contributions made it possible for our students to represent Australia in the International Rounds in Washington D.C. earlier this month," said the Dean, Professor Joellen Riley.

"On behalf of the Sydney Law School at the University of Sydney I would like to thank our donors for their tremenouds support and encouragement."

The team performed exceptionally well in Washington in what was the toughest contest

on record.

At the conclusion of the preliminary rounds the team was undefeated, and

ranked 3rd out of the 126 teams (from over 80 countries) participating in the competition.

"Our students progressed to the run off rounds, where they were defeated by an excellent team from Universitas Indonesia in a close moot," said Team Coordinator, Associate Professor Tim Stephens.

"At the awards ceremony at the conclusion of the competition, we learnt that the team's

written submissions were ranked 11th in the world.

"We also learnt that the students excelled during the preliminary rounds.

"All three of the team members who were eligible for placement on the list of the top speakers (by virtue of mooting twice in the preliminary rounds) were ranked in the top 100 oralists.

This is a tremendous achievement given that this year there were over 600 students competing in Washington."

A special thanks is reserved for Chris Beshara (BA 2010, LLB 2012) who coached the team during the National and International Rounds.

The 2013 Sydney Law School Jessup Moot Team progressed to the International Rounds of the Competition after being named National Champions in February - read more.

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 2639280c1b02582f3e2422253e3817760b1c3523374c18502f205d1812