Sydney Law School Alumni Australia Day Honours

5 February 2013

Sydney Law School would like to congratulate its alumni who were awarded Australia Day Honours recently.

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

The Hon Justice James Leslie Bain Allsop, AO (BA 1974, LLB 1980)

For distinguished service to the judiciary and the law, as a judge, through reforms to equity and access, and through contributions to the administration of maritime law and legal education.

Mr Roderick Hamilton McGeoch, AO (LLB 1969)

For distinguished service to the community through contributions to a range of organisations, and to sport, particularly through leadership in securing the Sydney Olympic Games.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Professor Brian Michael Boettcher, AM (MBBS 1986, MCrim 1997)

For significant service to psychiatry as a clinician and educator.

Mr Ewen Graham Wolseley Crouch, AM (BEc 1978, LLB 1980)

For significant service to the law as a contributor to legal professional organisations, and to the community through executive roles with Mission Australia.

Ms Louise Herron, AM (LLB 1982, BA 1986)

For significant service to the performing arts through leadership and advisory roles.

Professor Paul Murray Redmond, AM (BA 1969, LLB 1971, LLM 1976)

For significant service to the law through contributions to legal education and professional bodies.

Mr Mark Alfred Guido Tedeschi, AM QC (LLB 1974)

For significant service to the law as a prosecutor, and to photography.

Mr Kenneth Hudson Youdale, DFC AM (LLB 1950)

For significant service to the community, particularly as an advocate for people affected by thalidomide.

Medal of the Order of Australia

Mr Patrick Joseph Donnellan, OAM (BA 1966, LLB 1970)

For service to the community of Gosford.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mr David John Mason, PSM (BEc 1982, LLB 1984)

For outstanding public service in developing policy and pursuing strategic goals in relation to non-discrimination and broader human rights agendas.

Australian Police Medal (APM)

Mr Stephen John Henkel, APM(GradDipCrim 1986)

Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC)

Group Captain Christopher Thomas Hanna, CSC and Bar (MIL 2010)

For outstanding devotion to duty to the Australian Defence Force as a Legal Officer in the Royal Australian Air Force.

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 2f1c2b2a772a07563c195f53200003763d3f061e563d741322131d5943