Sydney Law School Team 2013 National Jessup Champions

12 February 2013

From left to right: Jackson Wherrett, Hannah Ryan, Rob Pietriche, The Hon. Justice John Dyson Heydon, AC (BA 1967, LLD 2007), Harrison Grace, Kathleen Heath, Associate Professor Tim Stephens (BA 1997, LLB 1999, PhD 2006) and Chris Beshara (BA 2010, LLB 2012)

Congratulations to Sydney Law School's Jessup Team on winning the National competition of the 2013 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Competition in Canberra recently.

The Team, comprising Jackson Wherrett (final year Arts (Media & Communications)/Law), Hannah Ryan (final year Arts/Law), Rob Pietriche (final year Economics/Law), Harrison Grace (final year Juris Doctor) and Kathleen Heath (final year Economic & Social Sciences/Law), together with their coach Chris Beshara (BA 2010, LLB 2012),were victorious in the final against the team from UWA.

The Hon. Justice Dyson Heydon, AC (BA 1964, LLD 2007) of the High Court of Australia presided in the final.

Kathleen Heath was named best oralist in the final and at the Awards Dinner Kathleen and Harrison Grace were named in the top ten speakers for the Competition.

Kathleen Heath (final year Arts/Law)

"Sydney has consolidated its position as the leading law school in Australia for international mooting with this Jessup win," said the Dean, Professor Joellen Riley.

"This is a brilliant achievement and on behalf of the faculty I would like to extend my congratulations to the Team and to Chris Beshara and Associate Professor Tim Stephens."

The Team, its coach and Associate Professor Stephens in the High Court.

A Jessup Team from Sydney Law School has been in the finals in Canberra 10 times since the competition began in 1977.

Further, a Sydney Jessup has won in Canberra a record 8 times in those ten appearances.

Sydney has won the Jessup Cup in Washington D.C. 3 times and Australian law schools have won the Jessup Cup a total of 10 times since 1977.

Sydney Law School's Jessup Record

  • International Jessup Champions - 2011, 2007, 1996
  • National Jessup Champions - 2013, 2011, 2008, 2000, 1998, 1996, 1995 and 1991

The team will now prepare to contest the international rounds of thePhilip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition in Washington D.C. commencing 31 March 2013.

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 7e352c28626b5b33041d08323e052b35062c55070a1242010f4276591c