Mr Tony Abbott is the 4th Sydney Law School Alumnus to become Prime Minister

10 September 2013

The newly elect Prime Minister, The Hon Mr Tony Abbott, MHR joins an illustrious group of distinguished alumni of the University of Sydney who have graduated from the Sydney Law School and proceeded to lead Australia in the highest office in the country. Mr Abbott (BEc 1979, LLB 1981), also a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford University in 1981, is the fourth Prime Minister to have studied at the Sydney Law School and joins fellow alumni Sir William McMahon, PC, CH, The Hon Gough Whitlam, AC, QC, and The Hon John Howard, AC as the 28th Prime Minister of Australia.

During his time as a student, Mr Abbott was keenly involved in a number of extracurricular activities, playing first grade rugby as well as leading the Students' Representative Council (SRC) as President.

The Sydney Law School offers its warm congratulations to Mr Abbott and wishes him well during his term as Prime Minister.

Mr Abbott joins two alumni who will be Cabinet Ministers in the newly elected Abbott Government.

He will serve alongside fellow University alumni Treasurer Joe Hockey (BA 1990, LLB 1990) and the Minister for Communications Malcolm Turnbull (BA 1977, LLB 1978).

Contact: Jessica Sullivan

Phone: +61 2 9351 0467

Email: 1f7b1a425d282e05022d7420122e035c4e5a27273a5e0e40