Alumna wins 2014 Lionel Murphy Scholarship

10 June 2014

Megan Caristo (BA 2006, LLB 2010)
Megan Caristo (BA 2006, LLB 2010)

Congratulations to Megan Caristo (BA 2006, LLB 2010) on winning the 2014 Lionel Murphy Scholarship.

The Scholarship will enable Megan to undertake a Master of Laws (LLM) at Columbia Law School from August this year.

"I intend to focus on US constitutional law and public law," she said.

"I anticipate such study will provide me with valuable insight into how Australian law might better balance constitutional rights with government interests and how lobbyists for vulnerable groups can better persuade governments of the importance of achieving that balance."

Megan currently works in the Constitutional Litigation Unit of the Office of General Counsel at the Australian Government Solicitor, and is on secondment at the Office of Constitutional Law at the Commonwealth Attorney General's Department.

The Scholarship is awarded by the Lionel Murphy Foundation, established in 1986 to provide a permanent institution to honour the unique contribution to public life in Australia of the Honourable Lionel Keith Murphy QC.

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 131b5753192b0b08241a19315b0b24262a0e075d2000791c4f391e3b1b