Success in the Shine Torts Moot

5 August 2014

The successful Shine Torts Moot Team
The successful Shine Torts Moot Team

For the second year running, a team from Sydney Law School has won Shine Torts Moot Competition.

The team of Bradley Smith (LLB III), Henry Cooper (JD I), Timothy Smartt (JD I) and Elizabeth Pearson (JD I) were victorious at the Competition held in Brisbane from 28 July - 1 August 2014.

"The team prepared for several weeks to moot on a problem question about a light aircraft crashing into a ferris wheel," said coach, Sarah Bradbury (LLB IV)

Bradley Smith and Henry Cooper spoke in the grand final against Bond University and were victorious.

The grand final was held in the Banco Court, and former Justice Fryberg was the presiding judge.

Henry Cooper was later awarded the prize for best speaker in the grand final.

The success follows that achieved at the 2013 Competition.


Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 0c41303667455a0b195c261e20190839413d020807171f5c3241661702