Law Alumni Honour Recipients for Queen's Birthday Honours 2008

20 June 2008

  • Dr David Bennett QC (BA '61, LLB '64)
    AC for service to the law, particularly as Commonwealth Solicitor-General, through the provision of advice on matters of national interest, and the international promotion of Australian legal services and education.
  • The Hon John W Howard (LLB '61)
    AC for distinguished service to the Parliament of Australia, particularly as prime minister and through contributions to economic and social policy reform, fostering and promoting Australia's interests internationally, and the development of significant philanthropic links between the business sector, arts and charitable organisations.
  • His Hon Thomas I Pauling QC (LLB '70)
    AO for service to the Northern Territory through significant contributions to the law, particularly relating to constitutional matters, to the development of legal organisations and the promotion of professional standards and to the community.
  • Mr David M Freeman (LLM '86)
    AM for service to the Jewish community, particularly through the development of hospital and aged care facilities in Sydney.
  • Professor Patrick J O'Keefe (PhDLaw '85)
    AM for service to the protection and repatriation of cultural property and heritage, to the law as a lecturer and author, and to legal education.
  • Ms Nancy J Milne (LLB '74)
    OAM for service to the legal sector, particularly as an insurance lawyer, and to the community.

Contact: Yvonne Cheong

Email: 214f291e2c2607523411183d1c57092c3c45230c