Team from Sydney Law School wins Sir Harry Gibbs National Moot Competition

3 October 2008

The victorious Sydney Law School Team - from left to right: Emma Truswell, Nik Kirby, Suzannah Morris (coach), Emma Dunlop and Astron Douglas.

For the second year in a row, a team from Sydney Law School has won the Sir Harry Gibbs National Moot Competition.

One of the most prestigious mooting competitions in Australia, the Sir Harry Gibbs National Moot is second only to the national Jessup rounds.

The Sydney team defeated the team from UNSW in the grand final, held at the Federal Court in Melbourne on the afternoon of Thursday, 2nd October 2008.

The team consisted of the following students:

  • Astron Douglas
  • Emma Dunlop
  • Emma Truswell
  • Nik Kirby
  • Suzannah Morris (Coach)

Emma Dunlop and Astron Douglas represented Sydney Law School in the grand final.

Emma Dunlop received the award for Best Oralist overall in both the competition and in the grand final.

Further, the team also received the judgement of best written submissions, meaning the Sydney Team won all prizes on offer.

The judging panel consisted of the The Hon. Justice Gray and The Hon. Justice Tracey of the Federal Court of Australia and Associate Professor Simon Evans of Melbourne Law School.

Special thanks to Andrew McCleod for assisting the team and keeping the Sydney Law School informed of its achievements.

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 0e271f55593d1a12155b3c25151c233a4d4311257e2e2d5e17052c