Sydney Law School Baxter and Dillard Winners in Jessup International Law Moot

6 July 2009

Five University of Sydney Law School students have recently been awarded prestigious prizes for their written submissions in the Jessup International Law moot court competition. The Jessup Moot is the largest and most prestigious international law mooting, or mock court, competition in the world.

In February the law school Jessup team, comprising Adriana Edmedes, Angela Ha, Nik Kirby, Ryan May and Annelise Young, were semi-finalists in the Australian National Rounds held in Canberra, and were also presented a prize for best overall memorials.

The team's written submissions have now been assessed by an international panel of judges, who have awarded them the Baxter Award for best overall respondent memorial. They were also ranked fourth in the world for their applicant memorial. Overall they were placed third in the world for their memorials, earning the team an additional award in the Dillard Competition.

The team's respondent memorial will be published in a coming issue of the International Law Student Association's Journal of International and Comparative Law.

Dr Tim Stephens, Faculty Advisor to the Team, said that "The team's outstanding performance for their substantial, 9000 word submissions, is testament to their commitment to international legal research at the highest level, and to the inspiration offered by their coach, Odette Murray, herself an award winning Jessup mooter."

Sydney was the only Australian team to win an award for the memorials. Its rankings for each of the categories were -

Dillare Competition - Sydney ranked 3rd

Baxter Competition Best Overall Applicant Memorial - Sydney ranked 4th

Baxter Competition Best Overall Respondent Memorial - Sydney ranked 1st

Contact: Peter Finneran

Phone: 02 9351 0224

Email: 1b7f251b172d0a17540d722f4a0f2f011f1e0d450a30