Law School Alumni share University of Sydney Convocation Medal

14 September 2009

Jack Clegg (BLibStud '04 PhD '08 LLB '09) and Anna Garsia (BSc (Advanced) '06 LLB '09) are joint winners of the 2009 University of Sydney Convocation Medal.

The announcement was made at The University of Sydney Alumni Council 2009 Alumni Awards Presentation, which took place on the evening of Friday, 11th September 2009.

The nominee summary for each was as follows:

Jack Clegg BLibStud ('04 PhD '08 LLB '09)

Jack worked energetically to enrich University life during his two terms as postgraduate Fellow of the Senate, where he sat on committees overseeing areas such as finance and appeals. He served a successful term as President of SUPRA and took on the responsibility of acting President for the SRC in the President's absence. Meanwhile, he has been an editor of publications such as the Survival Guide and has played double bass with the University Symphony Orchestra since 2000. He served on the board of the Australian Youth Orchestra from 2002-2007 and has been a director of the Australian Country Credit Union since 2002. His academic record encompasses two First Class Honours degrees, a University Medal, a PhD and numerous prizes.

Anna Garsia (BSc (Advanced) '06 LLB '09)

In recognition of her academic ability, Anna has received an array of honours including the University Medal in Biochemistry and the Goldman Sachs Global Leadership Program Award. She also participated in the law-specific exchange to Harvard Law School in 2008. Moreover, Anna is a gifted debater who has competed at the Australasian Championships and at the World Universities Debating Championship, where she attained victory in 2007. She has also contributed to university life as a Debates Committee member, Honi Soit editor, Honorary Secretary of the Sydney University Law Society and Design Editor of the women's law journalYemaya.

Nominees included current students and recent graduates of the Sydney law School:

  • Robert Clark (BA '07 LLB '09)

  • Chris Croke (BA '09)

  • Andrew Luboski (BA '09)

  • Alexandra Meagher (BA '07 LLB '09)

  • May Samali (BEcSocSc '09)

  • Samuel Thampapillai (BEc '09)

  • Daniel Wodak (BA '09)

This is the fifth occasion since 2003 thata student or graduate from Sydney Law School has won the University of Sydney Convocation Medal.

At the same ceremony, Anna Rose (BA '06, LLB '08) received the University of Sydney Alumni Award for Young Alumni Achievement.

View the Program for the 2009 University of Sydney Alumni Awards Presentation

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 0e1b310c461d5a16263d3f2004060b0302453b0c48171d3b19203d