Sydney Law School Team wins inaugural Murray Gleeson Moot

8 October 2009

The team from Sydney Law School has won the inaugural Murray Gleeson moot for 2009.

In congratulating the team, the Dean, Professor Gillian Triggs said, "The moot was a joint initiative of the Law Societies of UNSW and Sydney Law School and I congratulate them for arranging a very successful moot.

"The team members from Sydney Law School defeated a strong team from UNSW and all are to be congratulated on the high calibre of their arguments and presentation.

"The moot raised difficult issues of equity and constructive trusts to which there does not seem to be clear answer.

"Indeed, I had the impression that the Judges, The Hon. Murray Gleeson, The Hon. Keith Mason and The Hon. Patricia Bergin, were genuinely interested in the answers to their 'what if" questions.

"We will all look forward to the next round in 2010."

The team members were:

  • Andrew McLeod (BSc (Hons I) (2008), Final Year LLB)
  • Andrew Lee (BE (Hons I) (2008), Final Year LLB)
  • Ryan May (BA (2008), Final Year LLB)

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 17401d046a2129002b3900543c0a04140337130f4250171f621312