Sydney Law School team wins 2011 Shine Torts Moot

16 August 2011

Sydney Law School is delighted to pass on the news that its team has won the Final of the Shine Torts Moot, which was held last weekend in the Banco Court of the Supreme Court of Queensland.

The team won all 6 rounds of the competition.

They beat UNSW in the semi- finals and UTS in the Final.

The team consisted of:

  • Sarah Bradbury (2nd year Media and Communications/Law);
  • Louise Coleman (3rd year Arts/Law);
  • Mark Khunnithi (2nd year Economics/Law) and
  • Ramya Krishnan (4th year Arts/Law).

Their energetic and tireless coach was Chelsea Tabart who is a final year Graduate Law student and a member of the 2011 World Champion Jessup Team.

The team also received a great deal of assistance in practice moots from a number of senior student mooters.

Sarah and Louise represented the team in the Final and were awarded joint best speakers.

The Shine Team is providing the moot demonstration at the University of Sydney Open Day on Saturday, 27 August 2011 at 11 am in the Moot Court, with The Dean, Professor Gillian Triggs presiding.

Contact: Greg Sherington

Phone: +61 2 9351 0202

Email: 2d102b2b682b5c023a07182a470218703628213a032f465225127b0611