2015 News archive

View All Summary Expand all
November 2015
Professor Tony Weiss recipient of two Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI) awards   View Summary
30 November 2015
USYD logoProfessor Tony Weiss received two awards from the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI).
October 2015
iGEM wins a Gold medal at the 2015 Giant Jamboree in Boston   View Summary
16 October 2015
USYD logoCongratulations to the USyd iGEM team on their gold medal performance at the 2015 Giant Jamboree in Boston.
Mrs Helen Agus recipient of Excellence in Teaching Award & Fellowship   View Summary
8 October 2015
USYD logoMrs Helen Agus was awarded a Faculty of Science Learning & Teaching Fellowship for 2015 as well as the Australian Society for Microbiology David White Excellence in Teaching Award for 2015.
September 2015
Professor Ian Caterson recipient of the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital Foundation Medal   View Summary
10 September 2015
USYD logoProfessor Ian Caterson was awarded the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital Foundation Medal for 2015.
August 2015
Taylor, Tamara & So Ri, recipients of the ICIS Travel Award   View Summary
25 August 2015
Taylor Tamara So RiTaylor Syme, Tamara Suprunenko and So Ri Jung have been awarded ICIS Travel Awards.
Behnaz Aghaei (Weiss Lab) wins Best PhD Presentation Award   View Summary
24 August 2015
USYD logoBehnaz Aghaei was handed the Best PhD Presentation Award on the basis of her talk at the recent 2-day Early and Mid-Career Researcher Event.
Professor Margaret Allman-Farinelli featured on ABC's Life Matters Program   View Summary
21 August 2015
ABC MAFProfessor Margaret Allman-Farinelli, Professor of Dietetics and leader of the Wireless Wellbeing project, Charles Perkins Centre, actively participated in the "Bring Science to Wellness' forum, part of the Sydney Science Festival.
June 2015
Margaret Allman-Farinelli - ARC Linkage Grant Success   View Summary
12 June 2015
University of SydneyMargaret Allman-Farinelli has been awarded an ARC Linkage Grant for a research project entitled "Quantifying intake of food prepared outside home during emerging adulthood".
USYD iGEM featured on ABC's Science Show on Radio National   View Summary
12 June 2015
USYD iGEM ABCRepresentatives from the University of Sydney iGEM team have appeared on the Science Show (ABC Radio National) to discuss their research.
Markus Hofer awarded Incubator Grant from MS Research Australia   View Summary
12 June 2015
University of SydneyDr Markus Hofer has been awarded an Incubator Grant from MS Research Australia. Dr Hofer and his research group will investigate the role that serine phosphorylation of STAT1 plays in multiple sclerosis (MS). STAT1 is a key transcription factor, which mediates the effects of interferon-β — one of the most commonly prescribed treatments for MS
Congratulations Professor Emeritus Jill Trewhella   View Summary
12 June 2015
University of SydneyJill Trewhella was conferred with the title of Professor Emeritus taking up her appointment on July 1, 2015.
May 2015
Congratulations to the SMB Prize Winners 2015   View Summary
29 May 2015
Prize recipientSMB would like to extend congratulations to all Prize winners of 2015.
Professor Weiss receives a Wellcome Trust Translation Fund Award   View Summary
13 May 2015
WellcomeTrustProfessor Weiss and his collaborators have received a $1 million Wellcome Trust Translation Fund Award for their development of the synthetic version of Tropoelastin.
April 2015
Stephanie Partridge awarded 2014 Faculty of Science Postgraduate Research Prize    View Summary
28 April 2015
USYD LogoSMB would like to extend congratulations to Stephanie Partridge, who was awarded the 2014 Faculty of Science Postgraduate Research Prize for Outstanding Academic Achievement.
Congratulations Professor Emeritus Richard Christopherson   View Summary
23 April 2015
USYD LogoSMB would like to extend congratulations to Professor Richard Christopherson, who was conferred upon the title of Professor Emeritus.
Professor Tony Weiss awarded NHMRC Development Grant    View Summary
7 April 2015
NHMRC LogoSMB would like to extend congratulations to Tony Weiss, who was successful in the latest round of NHMRC Development Grants.
March 2015
Jessica Zhong awarded AINSE Honours Scholarship   View Summary
20 March 2015
Jessica ZhongJessica Zhong has been awarded an AINSE Honours Scholarship. Jessica is undertaking her Honours year with Charles Collyer.
Meng-Ping Hsu awarded a GLIA stipend   View Summary
20 March 2015
Meng-Ping HsuMeng-Ping Hsu has been awarded a GLIA stipend to attend the XII European Meeting on Glial Cells in Health and Disease which Is to be held in Bilbao, Spain in July. Meng is undertaking her Postgraduate studies with Professor Iain Campbell.
Philip Kuchel elected a Fellow of ISMAR   View Summary
11 March 2015
  ISMAR LogoPhilip Kuchel has been elected a Fellow of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance (ISMAR).
February 2015
Emeritus Professor Stewart Truswell editor of Essentials of Human Nutrition   View Summary
12 February 2015
Essentials of Human Nutrition logoEmeritus Professor Stewart Truswell and Prof Jim Mann (Otago University) are editors of the textbook "Essentials of Human Nutrition".
A/Prof Stuart Cordwell has been named Vice President of the Australian Proteomics Society (APS)   View Summary
12 February 2015
ustralian Proteomics Society (APS) logoA/Prof Stuart Cordwell has been named Vice President of the Australian Proteomics Society (APS)
Benjamin Parker awarded the prestigious Ken Mitchelhill   View Summary
12 February 2015
ustralian Proteomics Society (APS) logoBenjamin Parker has been awarded the prestigious Ken Mitchelhill, worth $2000, by the Australasian Proteomics Society. He will be giving a lecture on the opening night of their annual Symposium on the 5th February.
Manuscript recognised as 1 of 21 Best of the Year   View Summary
12 February 2015
jbc logoA manuscript published by A/Prof Stuart Cordwell, Dr Benjamin Parker and co-workers, has also been recognised as one of 21 "Best of the Year" papers.
Yee Lian Chew receives DeLill Nasser Award   View Summary
12 February 2015
GAS DeLill Nasser LogoYee Lian Chew is awarded the DeLill Nasser Award for Professional Development in Genetics from The Genetics Society of America.