Prof. Geraint Lewis: 2016 Boas Medal Winner

31 January 2017

In 2014, Professor Lewis and his team discovered that half of the dwarf galaxies surrounding larger galaxies are moving in orderly disc-shaped orbits, in contrast with the randomized motion predicted by theoretical models. This puzzling result contradicts the standard cosmological models and challenges our understanding of galaxy formation and evolution.

As recognition of his work, Professor Geraint Lewis has been awarded the 2016 Boas Medal by the Australian Institute of Physics (AIP) as announced in the latest issue of Australian Physics. Established in 1984, the Boas Medal aims to promote excellence in Australian research in Physics and to perpetuate the name of Walter Boas, Chief of CSIRO Division of Tribophysics from 1949 to 1969. Professor Lewis follows in the footsteps of SIfA Professor Don Melrose who won the Boas Medal in 1986. Other winners from the School of Physics include Professor Ben Eggleton who won the award in 2011 and Professor Peter Robinson in 2002.

The School of Physics will be hosting a seminar on the subject of the award on 15th March 2017. Details for this will be announced shortly.