Nursing duo receive Churchill Fellowships

15 July 2011

Two Sydney Nursing School academics have been awarded 2011 Churchill Fellowships enabling them to develop their nursing expertise at overseas locations.

Professor Kate White
Professor Kate White

Awarded to Australia's 'best and brightest', Churchill fellows are selected for their innovation and excellence in their chosen field.

Professor Kate White, appointed as NSW's first Academic Chair in Cancer Nursing, will travel to the United Kingdom to examine the role of nurse-led clinics focussed on intervention strategies for sexual dysfunction in cancer patients.

As Professor in Cancer Nursing, Kate White leads the Cancer Nursing Research Unit, a collaboration between Sydney Nursing School at the University of Sydney, the Cancer Institute of New South Wales and the Sydney Cancer Centre, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. Championing cancer nursing as a field of cancer research and practice the Unit combines Sydney Nursing School's strength in cancer and palliative care research and the Sydney Cancer Centre's excellence in clinical cancer care to develop and support cancer nursing clinicians across NSW.

Under Professor White's leadership the Cancer Nursing Research Unit provides support in areas of cancer nursing research, education, models of service provision and is working to optimise state-wide cancer nursing services.

Professor White's colleague, Associate Professor Kim Foster, received her Churchill fellowship to assist her work in developing programs for building resilience in children and families where parents have a mental illness.

Associate Professor Foster has particular expertise and interest in mental health, nurse education, curriculum development, and research. She is the Coordinator of Mental Health Nursing programs at Sydney Nursing School. She will travel to Canada, USA, and the Netherlands.

The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust was established after the death of Sir Winston Churchill and gives recipients the opportunity to travel overseas to further their passion before returning to Australia to implement their findings and share them with others.

Paul Tys, Chief Executive Officer of The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust said, "This year's Churchill Fellows, like their predecessors, are dedicated and inspiring Australians who will make a difference to our country over the coming decades. I congratulate them and look forward to supporting them on their immediate journey and future endeavours."