Boost for early career researchers: Postdoctoral Fellowships announced

15 November 2011

The University of Sydney has given early career researchers a boost with its latest round of Postdoctoral Research Fellowships.

12 academics have been awarded Fellowships, which allow outstanding researchers within 1-6 years of the award of their PhD to undertake research in any Department or School of the University.

An initiative of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), the Postdoctoral Research Fellowship scheme awards Fellows with a starting salary of $84,000 a year, plus a research support grant of $25,000.

"I am very pleased to be able to award these Fellowships again, they provide a fantastic opportunity on which researchers can build their careers," said Professor Jill Trewhella, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research).

"The Fellowship Scheme underlines our commitment to support research talent from a wide range of disciplines. These researchers are set to become some of our brightest stars, we are determined to provide them the best possible platform on which they can produce research that is relevant and responsive to Australia and the wider world."

The Scheme requires recipients to find and nominate a mentor who will support not only their nomination, but their ongoing work.

"Not only does the mentoring relationship provide important feedback and support for early career researchers, it gives our mid-career researchers valuable experience in leadership", said Professor Trewhella.

The Postdoctoral Fellows will begin their tenure in 2012.

Recipients of the Sydney Postdoctoral Research Fellowships:

  • Dr Simone Bignall (Arts and Social Sciences)
  • Dr Brendan Brewer (Science)
  • Dr Alain Chong (Business)
  • Dr Julie Leask (Medicine)
  • Dr Alexandra Martiniuk (Medicine)
  • Dr Seyed Javad Mousavi (Health Sciences)
  • Dr Hoa Nguyen (Education and Social Work)
  • Dr Neil Portman (Veterinary Science)
  • Dr Ginu Rajan (Engineering and Information Technologies)
  • Dr Aaron Rosen (Arts and Social Sciences)
  • Dr Peter Roth (Science)
  • Dr Miriama Young (Conservatorium)