Science student wins Rhodes scholarship

13 November 2009

The winner of the 2010 NSW Rhodes Scholarship is David Llewellyn, a University of Sydney Science Honours student with a determination to develop a vaccine for malaria.

David Llewellyn, winner of the 2010 NSW Rhodes Scholarship
David Llewellyn, winner of the 2010 NSW Rhodes Scholarship

David was educated at Great Lakes College Forster/Tuncurry where he was dux of his year, won the Eureka Schools Prize for Biological Sciences and received a UAI of 99.3. He went on to complete a Bachelor of Science (Advanced) at the University of Sydney, and was part of the Faculty of Science Talented Student Program.

"It's an absolute honour to be selected and I am very excited to be going but the magnitude of winning hasn't really set in," David said.

At the University of Sydney David's Honours research has related to the slow spread of cane toads across Northern Australia and focused on toads' immune responses and the development of disease-related control strategies.

David says a logical extension of this research is the application of disease control strategies to a humanitarian field.

He was also inspired to be part of local environmental solutions by a recent trip to Brazil in which he worked with the National Institute for Amazonian Research, and with local farmers to raise awareness of conservation issues.

At Oxford he will study a Doctorate in Philosophy in a laboratory run by Professor Adrian Hill at the Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics. Professor Hill is a world leader in the field of immunology and vaccine development in particular malaria vaccine development.

David is a resident of the University's St Paul's College and has been an active member of the College, having taken leading roles in a number of the College plays, as a regular member of the soccer squad and as the co-author of a report on the ecological sustainability of the College.

David's win follows the 2009 awarding of the scholarship to Natasha Simonsen, a University of Sydney economics/law graduate.

From the shortlist of this year's NSW Rhodes Scholarship two other participants will now go into selection for the 'Australia at Large Rhodes Scholarship' which will be announced in Canberra later this year.

Previous prominent Rhodes Scholars include Malcolm Turnbull, Geoffrey Robertson, Kim Beazley and Bob Hawke.

Contact: Faculty of Science

Phone: 02 9351 3021

Email: 071b012639375b5902225655642c3731291d04023e160033