Healthy Food Systems

Nutrition - Diversity - Safety

Good food and nutrition are fundamental to individual wellbeing and healthy communities. Delivering sufficient, safe and nutritious food in a sustainable manner to meet the requirements of a growing human population is one of the world’s greatest challenges.

This project node focuses on good nutrition and the interrelationships between farmers, traders, regulators, consumers and policy makers to determine policies and food systems that deliver appropriate, sustainable, diverse, safe and nutritious diets in Australia and globally.

Many of the inefficiencies of the modern food system(s) are the result of fragmentation of its component parts and an absence of coordinated research across the disciplines. Human nutritionists, farmers, agriculturalists, animal health specialists, public health professionals and natural resource managers have largely worked in isolation from each other. As part of the group’s research, the multidisciplinary team is reviewing the political dimensions that can impact positively on food and nutrition security and safety. These dimensions range from legislative frameworks that improve the efficiency of disease control initiatives, to the adequate participation of women in agricultural research and extension.

The group’s combined research and field expertise within Australia and in countries across Africa, the Pacific region and Asia are being put to use investigating the social, economic, political and environmental drivers of dietary outcomes, both in Australia and overseas, to develop innovative solutions that will enable existing resources to be used more efficiently, effectively and sustainably.


Recent events

Secure, safe, sustainable food systems: safe today, optimal for the future
One Health Ecohealth Pre-congress Workshop
30 November - 2 December 2016

This workshop brought together international researchers to review the links between food systems, the double burden of under and over nutrition and other human and environmental risks associated with food production and supply and to assess options for a food and nutrition-based response.

Download the Workshop Statement

More information

Sustainable Food Systems

Attendees at the One Health Ecohealth Pre-congress Workshop

Project leader

Associate Professor Robyn Alders AO


Collaboration team

Name

Faculty / School / Centre

Contact email

Capability (expertise)

Associate Professor Bill Pritchard

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

bill.pritchard@sydney.edu.au

Project node co-lead, economic geographer

 

Dr Alana Mann

Faculty of Arts and Social Science, University of Sydney

alana.mann@sydney.edu.au

Communication and food politics

Dr Brigitte Bagnol

Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Sydney; Department of Anthropology, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa

bagnolbrigitte@gmail.com

Social anthropologist

Dr Ro McFarlane

National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health, Australian National University

romcfarlane@gmail.com

Veterinary ecologist

Professor David Raubenheimer

Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Sydney

david.raubenheimer@sydney.edu.au

Nutritional ecology

Dr Adam Kamradt-Scott

Department of Government and International Relations

adam.kamradt-scott@sydney.edu.au

Health security and governance

Mr Julian Cribb

Julian Cribb & Associates, Canberra

julian.cribb@work.netspeed.com.au

Science writer

http://www.sciencealert.com.au/jca.html

Professor Richard Kock

Department of Pathology and Pathogen Biology, Royal Veterinary College and Leverhulme Centre for Integrative Research on Agriculture

and Health, University of London

rkock@rvc.ac.uk

Veterinary science – epidemiology, pathology, ecology, wildlife health/disease and emerging disease, One Health/ conservation medicine, ecological and environmental impacts of food systems, especially on social systems, culture and biodiversity

Professor Jonathan Rushton

Veterinary Epidemiology, Economics and Public Health Group, Royal Veterinary College and Leverhulme Centre for Integrative Research on Agriculture

and Health, University of London

jrushton@rvc.ac.uk

Economic assessment of livestock systems; economic assessment of animal diseases and health problems; value chain analysis of food systems

Associate Professor Jenny-Ann Toribio

Farm Animal Veterinary Public Health, Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Sydney

jenny-ann.toribio@sydney.edu.au

Investigation of opportunities and constraints for smallholder livestock systems from farm to market in Southeast Asia

Dr Nicoline de Haan

Poverty, Institutions and Gender, for Water, Land and Ecosystems; Consultative Group for International Agricultural Research (CGIAR)

N.deHaan@cgiar.org

Rural sociologist – small holder systems, animal health and natural resource management

Associate Professor Jane Dixon

National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health, Australian National University

Jane.Dixon@anu.edu.au

Sociologist working at the intersection of sociology and public health, and focuses on transformations within national food systems

Associate Professor Robyn McConchie

Faculty of Agriculture and Environment, University of Sydney

robyn.mcconchie@sydney.edu.au

Plant Physiology and Postharvest Biology 

Associate Professor Mu Li

School of Public Health, University of Sydney

mu.li@sydney.edu.au

Nutritional epidemiologist

Professor

Elspeth Probyn

Dept of Gender & Cultural Studies,

FASS

elspeth.probyn@sydney.edu.au

Gender, cultural & media studies; sustainable production & consumption of fish; primary resource regions, communities and identity; transglobal markets; gender & eating

Dr Brian Jones

Dept of Plant and Food Science, Faculty of Agriculture and Environment, University of Sydney

brian.jones@sydney.edu.au

Plant developmental biologist with a strong interest in how social structure impacts on food systems and how this in turn affects human wellbeing and humanity’s environmental footprint

Dr Anne-Marie Thow

Menzies Centre for Health Policy

annemarie.thow@sydney.edu.au

Researcher on the use of economic policy to improve the food environment and prevent chronic disease

Dr Peter Daniels

Independent consultant

danielspeter19@gmail.com

Advisor to the international organizations the OIE, the FAO and the WHO on the diagnosis and management of infectious diseases of animals and their impact on food security and public health

Professor Margaret Allman-Farinelli

Charles Perkins Centre, University of Sydney

margaret.allman-farinelli@sydney.edu.au

Interested in dietetics (from food and nutritional science through prevention of lifestyle associated chronic disease through evidence-based dietetic management of chronic disease to nutritional assessment and intervention in acute hospital care) and the development of qualitative and quantitative tools and methods used for dietetic practice and research and innovative delivery methods for health promotion and diet counselling.

Luke Craven

Sydney Environment Institute, University of Sydney

luke.craven@sydney.edu.au

Social and political scientist whose research is concerned with the governance of complex policy issues, with a focus on food, health, and the environment.

Dr Susan Caves

Discipline of Geography & Environmental Studies, The University of Newcastle, Australia

Susan.Caves@uon.edu.au

A veterinarian turned human geographer with research interests in Australian food production and supply systems and resilience studies.

Professor Tim Gill

Charles Perkins Centre, The University of Sydney

tim.gill@sydney.edu.au

Public Health Nutrition; public health policy advisor on nutrition, obesity, and chronic disease prevention

Dr Sinead Boylan

Charles Perkins Centre, The University of Sydney

sinead.boylan@sydney.edu.au

Nutritional Epidemiology

Associate Professor Leanne Piggott

Business Education, Business School, University of Sydney

leanne.piggot@sydney.edu.au   

Food security in the Middle East

Alexandra Iljadica

Youth Food Movement, Australia

Alexandra@youthfoodmovement.org.au

Co-founder, Youth Food Movement, Australia

Gianna Bonis-Profumo

Barilla Centre for Food and Nutrition - Young Earth Solutions Ambassador

gianna.bonis@gmail.com

Food security, sustainable agriculture and international development

Professor Michael Dibley

School of Public Health, University of Sydney

michael.dibley@sydney.edu.au

Public Health Nutrition

Ben Oldroyd

School of Biology, University of Sydney

ben.oldroyd@sydney.edu.au

Bee biology

Vitali Sintchenko

Westmead Millennium Institute for Medical Research

vitali.sintchenko@sydney.edu.au

Foodborne disease surveillance

Robert Park

Faculty of Agriculture and Environment, University of Sydney

robert.park@sydney.edu.au

Fungal pathogens threatening global grain production

Les Copeland

Faculty of Agriculture and Environment, University of Sydney

les.copeland@sydney.edu.au

Quality and functionality of cereal and pulse grains; structure, functionality and digestibility of food starches; origins of the human diet

Cormac O’Shea

Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Sydney

Cormac.oshea@sydney.edu.au

Animal Nutrition

Heather Grieve

Independent consultant affiliated with the Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Sydney

heather.grieve@gmail.com

Human Nutrition

Dr Deborah Schlichting

Independent consulting agricultural economist

schlichtingd@gmail.com

Food security in the Middle East.

Darryl Stellmach

CPC, MBI and Faculty of Veterinary Science,

University of Sydney

Darryl.stellmach@sydney.edu.au

Medical Anthropologist

Kelly McJannett

CEO, Food Ladder

kelly@foodladder.org

Sustainable food security

Julia de Bruyn

Faculty of Veterinary Science and Charles Perkins Centre, University of Sydney

Julia.debruyn@sydney.edu.au

Food and nutrition security

Danny Hunter

Senior Scientist, Bioversity International, Rome, Italy

d.hunter@cgiar.org

Links between sustainable agriculture, environment and nutrition