Academic Workload Monitoring Committee

The purpose of the committee is to oversee and support the implementation and monitoring of the University’s Workload Allocation Policy, as set out in clauses 257 - 277 of the Enterprise Agreement 2013–2017.

Terms of reference

The role of the committee is to:

a) review the workload allocation policy for each academic work unit on an annual basis to ensure the provisions of the Enterprise Agreement are being observed

b) ensure that the workload allocation policy for each academic work unit provides a reasonable basis for determining comparison of workload quantum across the University.

Committee membership


  • Professor Stephen Garton, Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Nominees of the University

  • Faculty of Veterinary Science
    Veronica Boulton, Faculty Manager
  • Faculty of Science
    Professor Trevor Hambley, Dean
  • Sydney Nursing School
    Associate Professor Heather McKenzie, Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching)

Nominees of the National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU)

  • Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
    Associate Professor Damien Connolly Cahill, Department of Political Economy
  • Faculty of Science
    Dr Murray Thomson, Senior Lecturer, School of Biological Sciences
  • University of Sydney Business School
    Dr Jane Andrew, Associate Professor, Discipline of Accounting
  • Faculty of Science
    Associate Professor Laurentiu Paunescu, School of Mathematics and Statistics


, Executive Officer