Sciences and Technologies of Learning (STL) Research Fest

The Research Fest is our annual event inviting the community of researchers and practitioners in the sciences and technologies of learning to come together to exchange ideas, showcase work, form new collaborations, and catch up on recent innovations in learning and knowledge technology research.

Research Fest 2014 - Nov 6

Save that date! The annual STL Research Fest will take place on Thursday November 6th in the Education Building (A35) at the University of Sydney.

Exact timing and program details will be confirmed closer to the date but we expect to have our usual mix of presentations, posters and keynotes as well as plenty of time to catch up with colleagues over coffee. For more information, and for information on what took place at last year’s fest, see below on this page. More details to follow here and on the STL blog.

Research Fest 2013

The 2013 Research Fest was held on Thursday, 7. November 2013, from 10am to 4pm, in the IT and PNR Buildings of the University of Sydney. It was a free event, open to all researchers and practitioners in the field of sciences and technologies of learning, with 150 registered participants from various institutions.

fest sessions

Guest Talk

In the morning, a very informative and interesting lecture-theatre talk on Massive Open Online Courses (MOOC) was given by A/Prof Bob Kummerfeld. Find out more about the talk, Make it so number one - Where are SPOCs taking us?, and the speaker.

Research Poster Showcase

After the talk, participants enjoyed morning tea while attending the Research Poster Showcase where they could catch up on various research innovations in sciences and technologies of learning. The session included a diverse showcase of postgraduate research, small projects, collaborative work, and government-funded research. Not only completed projects, but also many works-in-progress were presented.

Below is a list of posters that were presented at the Fest, with the winners of our Best Poster Awards on top. While all participants were just voting for their "favourite" poster (People's Choice), in a separate award (Judges' Choice), the criteria included relevance to the field and significance; quality of research; clear and concise visual presentation; as well as how interesting and engaging each poster appeared.

  • Asynchronous Interactions and Learning on Edmodo: Unpacking Situated Cognition in a Blended Primary Classroom by: Patricia Thibaut, CoCo (patricia.thibautpaez@sydney.edu.au) - Best Poster (Judges' Choice)
  • mStories: Exploring New Literacies of Adult Mobile Creative Practice by: Jessica Frawley, School of Software, UTS (jessica.frawley@uts.edu.au) - Best Poster Runner-Up (Judges' Choice)
  • Orchestration in Ubiquitous and Pervasive Environments by: Andrew Clayphan & Roberto Martinez-Maldonaldo, CHAI (andrew.clayphan@sydney.edu.au) - Best Poster (People's Choice, equal first)
  • Web 2.0 in Education - Challenges for Teachers by: Nina Bonderup, Design and Communication, University of Southern Denmark & CoCo's Visiting Scholar (nina@sdu.dk) - Best Poster (People's Choice, equal first)

———-

  • Developing Self-regulated Readers in Online Distance Education: The
    Case of Educational Reading Groups
    by: Panos Vlachopoulos, Learning and Teaching Centre, Macquarie University (panos.vlachopoulos@mq.edu.au)
  • Reading Game: Engaging Learners to Become Question-Makers Rather Than Question-Takers by Getting Feedback, Making Friends and Having Fun by: Robert Parker, Learning and Teaching Centre, Macquarie University & Kira Westaway, Department of Environment & Geography, Macquarie (robert.parker@mq.edu.au)
  • VIZBIplus – Visualising the Future of Biomedicine by: Kate Patterson, Visual Science Communication/Biomedical Animation, Garvan Institute of Medical Research (k.patterson@garvan.org.au)
  • Guided Self-management of Videos and Animations through Pacing and Sequencing Strategies by: George Hatsidimitris, School of Physics, UNSW (georgeh@unsw.edu.au)
  • Reinforcing and Enhancing Active Learning with Multimedia (REALM): A Collaborative Project Between the University of Delhi and the University of NSW by: George Hatsidimitris, School of Physics, UNSW (georgeh@unsw.edu.au)
  • Mapping Students' Online Assessment Preferences by: Negin Mirriahi, Dennis Alonzo & Margot McNeill, Learning and Teaching Unit, UNSW (negin.mirriahi@unsw.edu.au)
  • A Learning Portfolios Approach to Academic Development by: Belinda Allen, Learning and Teaching Unit, UNSW (belinda@unsw.edu.au)
  • iQ: An Intelligent Laboratory Queue Management System by: Charlie Choi, David Choi & Nonie Politi, School of Electrical Engineering, UNSW (nonie@unsw.edu.au)
  • Highlighting Heutagogy in Self-directional Online Resources for Professional Learning by: Maria Northcote, Faculty of Education, Business and Science, Avondale College of Higher Education (maria.northcote@avondale.edu.au)
  • Interface Design for Learning: Multimedia Design Strategies for Learning Experiences by: Dorian Peters, Faculty of Education & Social Work, Sydney (dorian.peters@sydney.edu.au)
  • Getting the Point: Tracing Worked Examples Aids Maths Learning by: Agnes Hu, Faculty of Education & Social Work, Sydney (fahu3963@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Are We Learning from Our Labs? Adding Contextual Information to a Remote Laboratory in a Virtual World to Help Students Learn by: Tania Machet, School of IT, Sydney (tmac2470@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Driving Curriculum and Technological Change to Support Writing in the Engineering Disciplines by: Sazzad Hussain, Latte (sazzad.hussain@sydney.edu.au)
  • Software Platform Development for Data Mining Tutoring System Logs to Track Learning Activities and Behavior by: Sazzad Hussain, Latte (sazzad.hussain@sydney.edu.au)
  • Intelligent Diabetes Lifestyle Coach by: Hamed Monkaresi, Latte (hamed.monkaresi@sydney.edu.au)
  • GSR and Blink Features for Cognitive Load Classification by: Nargess Nourbakhsh, Latte (nargess.nourbakhsh@sydney.edu.au)
  • TransitionMate: A Mobile Application for Chronic Illness Transition Support by: Yu Zhao, Latte (yzha1450@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Moderator Assistant: Helping Online Health Support Group by: Ming Liu & Rafael Calvo, Latte (ming.liu@sydney.edu.au)
  • A Software Framework for Evaluating Internet Wellbeing Interventions by: Alexey Latyshev, Latte (alexey.latyshev@sydney.edu.au)
  • Learning How to Tackle Long Term Goals by Testing Personal Hypotheses by: Farahnaz Yekeh, CHAI (fyek9388@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Well-Met: For Small Groups Working on Long Term Projects by: Christopher Ackad, CHAI (cackad@gmail.com)
  • Goals as Foundations for Self Regulated Learning Based on Ubicomp Sensor Data by: Debjanee Barua, CHAI (dbar8744@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Distance Synchronous Online Learning: What Are Students Up To on the Other Side of the Screen? by: Janica Nordstrom, CoCo (enor1370@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Educational Design and Autonomy by: Martin Parisio, CoCo (martin.parisio@sydney.edu.au)
  • Multimodal Systems of Representations in Educational Design Team Meetings by: Dewa Wardak, CoCo (dwar9402@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Inclusive Networked Learning: Designing for Adult Literacy Education by: Ana Pinto, CoCo (apin8882@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • School Students' Socio-scientific Thinking: Activating 'Sustainable' Mental Resources by: David Ashe, CoCo (david.ashe@sydney.edu.au)
  • Scholar-Researcher-Teacher: Turning the Learning Sciences Towards Academic Work by: Melinda Lewis, CoCo (melinda.lewis@sydney.edu.au)
  • Designing for Epistemic Agency: How Student Groups Create Knowledge and What Helps Them Do It by: Natalie Spence, CoCo (nspe3861@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Material Entanglement: Learning Activity and the Setting in which It Occurs by: Pippa Yeoman, CoCo (pyeo5847@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Teachers' Conceptions of ICT Enhanced Teaching: Vocational Education Context by: Shahadat Khan, CoCo (skha8285@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • A Perceptual Embodied Approach for Learning Nanotechnology by: Polly Lai, CoCo (kuan.lai@sydney.edu.au)
  • Reflective Designers: The Role of Student-to-student Learning of Academic Skills through a Scaffolded Learning Environment by: Jock Boyd, MLS&T, CoCo (jboy7025@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Unfolding Professional Identity Practices of Engineering Students by: Maryam Khosronejad, CoCo (mkho4965@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • TPACK in Pieces: A New Dimension to Understand Teachers' Knowledge by: Shaista Bibi, CoCo (sbib5061@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Blended Learning: Integrating Asynchronous Online Discussion into Face-to-face Arabic Reading Classes by: Yahya Qenaey, CoCo (yqen4202@uni.sydney.edu.au)
  • Let’s Fast Track the Slow Times: Applying a Slow Philosophy to ICT-rich Education by: Miriam Tanti, CoCo (Miriam.Tanti@acu.edu.au)

Interactive Parallel Sessions

These Interactive Sessions in breakout rooms (with 15-30 participants) were a unique opportunity to engage in discussion and enquiry with researchers and practitioners in a particular interest area. Each session was designed and chaired by a group of experts who have particular experience and interest in the chosen theme. The formats included workshops, panels, technology demos, and others; all sessions were engaging, interactive, and informative within the sciences and technologies of learning theme.

Below is a list of the sessions; you can also read more about each session.

Interactive Parallel Sessions - Round 1 (before lunch)
  • Closing the Analytics Loop: Designing Learning Tasks with Embedded Learning Analytics by: Abelardo Pardo and Kate Thompson (contact: abelardo.pardo@sydney.edu.au)
  • Exploiting Data to Improve Professional Practice: Introducing MySatNav for Professional Development by: Tim Shaw, Judy Kay, Manju Sharma, and Janette Bobis (contact: tim.shaw@sydney.edu.au)
  • Positive Computing - Technology to Foster Psychological Wellbeing in Schools by: Rafael A. Calvo, Felicia Huppert, Sarah Jackson, and Dorian Peters (contact: dorian.peters@sydney.edu.au)
  • Evaluation of the New Learning Spaces in the Charles Perkins Centre (CPC) by: Tina Hinton*, Philip Poronnik, Martin Parisio, Lucila Carvalho, and Pippa Yeoman (contact: philip.poronnik@sydney.edu.au; *Tina is organising the session but not able to attend)
  • Blended Synchronous Learning: Uniting On-campus and Distributed Learners Using Media-rich Real-time Collaboration Tools - Part 1 by: Matt Bower (contact: matt.bower@mq.edu.au)
Interactive Parallel Sessions - Round 2 (after lunch)
  • Workshop on Developing the Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT) Proposals (Projects & Fellowships) by: Manju Sharma, Abelardo Pardo, Siobhan Lenihan, Helen Drury, Alison Kuiper, Philip Poronnik, and Rafael A. Calvo (contact: manjula.sharma@sydney.edu.au)
  • Architectures of Productive Learning Networks by: Peter Goodyear and Lucila Carvalho (contact: peter.goodyear@sydney.edu.au)
  • Classroom Orchestration: Building a Bridge between HCI and the Learning Science by: Judy Kay, Roberto Martinez-Maldonado, Pippa Yeoman, and Andrew Clayphan (contact: roberto@it.usyd.edu.au)
  • Learning Challenging Scientific Knowledge with Virtual Worlds and Computational Modelling Technologies in Australian schools: Interactive Demonstrations and Preliminary Research Results by: Michael Jacobson, Lina Markauskaite, and Charlotte Taylor (contact: michael.jacobson@sydney.edu.au)
  • Blended Synchronous Learning: Uniting On-campus and Distributed Learners Using Media-rich Real-time Collaboration Tools - Part 2 by: Matt Bower (contact: matt.bower@mq.edu.au)

Please direct any questions about the event to Dr Agnieszka Bachfischer (agnieszka.bachfischer@sydney.edu.au).