Research Integrity Adviser profiles

Professor Gail Pearson
School of Business
Professor Pearson brings a wealth of experience, and a commitment to foster a culture of responsible research by ensuring a voice for, and fair representation of the interests of all research stake-holders. Gail is Chair of the PhD Awards Subcommittee of the Academic Board and a member of the: Code Compliance Committee, Mutual Banking Code of Practice; Fair Trading Advisery Council (a statutory advisery committee to the Minister for Fair Trading); Consumer Protection Committee, International Law Association; and Executive Board of the International Association of Consumer Law. Gail has co-authored numerous books and articles and supervises research students.

Professor John Christodoulou AM
MB BS PhD FRACP  FFSc  FRCPA Disciplines of Genetic Medicine and Paediatrics & Child Health)
Professor Christodoulou has substantial experience in the academic and administrative oversight of postgraduate research, having been a previous chair of the Board of Postgraduate Studies in Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy and a long standing member of the PhD Awards Subcommittee until recently.  He has very strong laboratory research interest in the fields of medical and biochemical genetics, and is previous recipient of the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Research Student Supervision.

Professor Alexander Blaszczynski
School of Psychology
Professor Blaszczynski is an active clinician and researcher with collaborative national and international networks who teaches ethics and professional practice at the postgraduate level. Alex is a member of the Human Research Ethics Committee and through experience has a deep understanding of ethical issues and associated complexities encountering academics. Alex is editor and associate editor of journals in the addiction field, member of the International Society of Journal Editors and the Committee on Publication Ethics.

Professor Les Copeland
PhD Sydney
Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
Professor Copeland has a strong commitment to fostering research excellence and integrity in the University and brings substantial experience as a dedicated researcher and former Dean. Les is a member of the Research Advisery Committee of the Australian Farm Institute and President of the University of Sydney Association of Professors. He was the Foundation President of the Australian Council of Deans of Agriculture and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Les has extensive experience in international projects, his research on plant/food chemistry and biochemistry has resulted in over 120 papers and he has been the primary supervisor of 29 PhD completions.

Mr James Glister
MA Camb MJur Durham
Sydney Law School
Jamie Glister’s interest in the development of a culture of research integrity is evidenced by his appointment to represent the Law School on matters of academic honesty.. He is a member of the Law School’s Research Promotion Committee and sits on the editorial board of the Sydney Law Review. Jamie is involved in PhD supervision and his particular areas of research interest include the law of trusts, equitable remedies, and some aspects of commercial law.

Professor Michael Murray
DSc Sydney
School of Medical Science
Professor Michael Murray brings extensive experience and a commitment to a culture of responsible research, through his management of biomedical research projects and career development support for researchers. Michael is the author of over 170 original research articles, reviews and chapters and has supervised many higher-degree students to completion. He has served on NHMRC grant and fellowship assessment committees, editorial boards of international journals and has provided ad hoc reviews for other journals and funding bodies.

Associate Professor John Conomos
Sydney College of the Arts
Associate Professor John Conomos is an artist, critic and writer. He has exhibited internationally since the 1980s, most recently at the Tate Modern, London. His publications include co-editor of Rethinking the Contemporary Art School and Mutant Media, a collection of essays. John supervises research students and his fields of research cover a variety of camera-based art forms and their unfolding inter-textual connections, autobiography, cinema, new media studies and post-colonial theory.

Dr Margot Day
PhD, Sydney
School of Medical Sciences
Dr Day is Sub-Dean of Honours for the Sydney Medical program in the School of Medical Sciences, co-ordinates postgraduate physiology and the ‘Talented Student’ program and heads the Developmental Physiology laboratory. She is a member of the Australian Physiological Society, Society for Reproductive Biology and Society for the Study of Reproduction. Margot is a member of the NHMRC biomedical scholarship assessment panel, does ad-hoc reviews for NHMRC, ARC and a number of international scientific journals and has authored a number of research publications.


Associate Professor Judith Keene
School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry, Faculty of Arts
Judith Keene brings a long-standing commitment to the maintenance of an open, ethical and effective research culture at this university. An active researcher, she is presently part of a cross disciplinary and cross-institutional ARC-funded project on the post cold war world and, as well, supervises honours and post graduate students. She has served as Associate Dean of Post Graduate Research in the Arts Faculty and as an Arts representative on the Academic Board. In the broader research world she has been a member of the Executive Committee of the Australian Historical Association and is presently on the History Advisory Committee of the Australian Army. She is an external thesis examiner and an assessor for the Australian Research Council and for the National Research Council of Canada.  



Associate Professor Fariba Dehghani
School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Associate Professor Dehghani is director of postgraduate research and coursework.  She has more than 100 publications as a book chapter, patent, peer reviewed journal and conference proceedings and supervises research students.

Dr Roslyn Bathgate

PhD, Sydney
Faculty of Veterinary Science
Dr Bathgate is dedicated to postgraduate education in research integrity as a cornerstone of a successful research career. She is a member of the Veterinary Science Faculty’s postgraduate education and research training committee, and has supervised many research students. Roslyn is a member of the Society for Reproductive Biology and has published numerous research articles. As a member of the Veterinary Science Faculty, Roslyn is acutely aware of the importance of the ethics in research involving animals.


Associate Professor Lee Wallace

PhD, Auckland
School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
Lee Wallace is currently an Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow. Prior to taking a position at Sydney she was Associate Dean Postgraduate in the Faculty of Arts at University of Auckland where she played a crucial role in the development of a supportive research culture and the mentoring of early-career researchers. Lee has published two research monographs, numerous peer-reviewed articles and several book chapters, including co-authored work on research pedagogy. Although she is primarily a humanities scholar, Lee also has experience in collaborative research requiring intellectual property agreements between multiple universities and corporate entities.