Fauvette Finalists Announced


Image: Jonny Niesche, 2014. Photo by Jessica Maurer, courtesy the artist.

Congratulations to Bonita Bub, Lucas Davidson, Julian Day, Nick Dorey and Clare Milledge, the finalists of the 2015 Fauvette Loureiro Memorial Artists Travel Award.

Last year's winner, Jonny Niesche, will spend the next six-months undertaking a self-directed program of focused research, study and mentoring with Professor Heimo Zöbernig and Professor Andreas Reiter Raabe in Vienna, Austria. Jonny will attend a semester of Professor Zöbernig’s master’s class at the Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna, and participate in the class excursion to the 2015 Venice Biennale.

The Fauvette Loureiro Memorial Artists Travel Award supports an SCA graduate to continue the development of their practice through international travel. The $28,000 prize is awarded on the basis of an application and visual assessment by a panel of judges. Drawing from the wealth of talent from recent graduates, the Fauvette exhibition has cemented a strong reputation for quality in contemporary art. The recipients and finalists include some of the most prominent contemporary artists in Sydney.

The winner will be announced at the FLMATS Finalist Exhibition opening at SCA on 7 October 2015.