Prizes and Bursaries

Postgraduate Research scholarships

Undergraduate and Postgraduate Coursework scholarships

University of Sydney scholarships for undergraduate and postgraduate coursework students

External Scholarships for current undergraduate and postgraduate coursework students

The Zonta Club of Northern Beaches Inc. Study Grant for Women

The Zonta Club of the Northern Beaches Inc. are seeking applications for a study grant from women who reside on the Northern Beaches, are experiencing hardship/financial difficulty and who are currently studying at a tertiary level.

The objective of the study grant is to provide Northern Beaches women with some funding so that they can achieve a successful outcome with their studies at a tertiary level.

Eligibility criteria:

  • Must reside on the Northern Beaches
  • Must show evidence of hardship and financial difficulty
  • There must clear evidence of successful completion of twelve months of study in the current course of study

How to apply: Fill in the application form and return to:

Status of Women Committee
Zonta Club of Northern Beaches
PO Box 1088
Mona Vale NSW 2103

The Defence University Sponsorship

The Defence University Sponsorship is the perfect way to make university life more manageable and provides you with the opportunity to make a difference in your degree. The sponsorship is available to undergraduate or graduate students studying an accredited degree at any recognised university in Australia. As a sponsored student you will receive a salary to study, your HELP and student fees covered from when sponsorship starts and many other benefits. For more information please visit the Defence University Sponsorship website.

Per Capita Young Writers' Prize

The Per Capita Young Writers' Prize is open to all Australians aged 25 years and under, and is designed to encourage thinking about, and research into, major public policy challenges facing Australia.

Award amount: The winner of the Per Capita Young Writer’s Prize will receive $3,000 and a return international flight to study overseas approaches to their selected policy issue. The winning entry will also be published by Per Capita.

How to apply: To enter, applicants must write an essay of no more than 3,000 words in response to one of Per Capita’s set questions or a question of their own choosing. For more information and to access the entry form, please visit the Per Capita Young Writer's Prize website.

Closing date: 10 July 2015

A Better Australia Scholarship 2015

The Expert Editor awards one $1000 scholarship each year to a student in Australia intent on making the country a better place.

Eligibility: To be eligible for this scholarship, you must meet the following criteria:

  • A student (undergraduate or postgraduate) currently enrolled in a degree.
  • An Australian citizen, or permanent resident. International students are welcome to apply, but they must demonstrate how they will see through their change-making agenda after they graduate.

How to apply: To be awarded this scholarship, students must outline in around 200 words how they intend to change Australia. Please email your entry to and include your name, university and contact details.
For more information, please visit the Expert Editor scholarship website.

Closing date: 31 December 2015

Zado’s 2015 High Achievers Scholarship Program

Zado is offering high achieving university students a scholarship to be used towards tuition fees, book expenses and/or any other verified institutional costs.

Eligibility: Provided they meet the following conditions, we welcome all students to apply regardless of their geographical location:

  • Students must be enrolled full-time or part-time at an accredited education institute.
  • Students must be studying a Bachelors, Masters, Honours or Postgraduate Degree.
  • Students must have a Credit Average WAM or higher across all their subjects.
  • Students must be Australian Citizens or Australian Permanent Residents.

We actively encourage students from rural locations to also apply.

Award amount: Zado will award the winning student with $2,000.

How to apply: Students should apply via email to , with the subject as “Your Name – 2015 Scholarship Application.” Students will also need to ensure that the following has been attached in a SINGLE document:

  1. A cover letter that outlines the student’s educational background, experience, skills and interests.
  2. The student’s latest academic transcript.
  3. The student’s response to the short essay question,” In 500 words or less, explain how Zado’s scholarship program will help you meet your future goals?”

For more information, please see the Zado scholarship website.

Closing date: 31 December 2015