the Alexander Memorial lecture program


The Alexander Memorial Lecture

Professor Albert Ernest Alexander obtained his BSc at the University of Reading, and his PhD from the University of Cambridge. In 1949 he moved to Sydney to take up the Foundation Chair of Applied Chemistry at what was later to become the University of NSW. In 1957 he moved to the University of Sydney to hold the chair of Physical Chemistry, a position he held until 1970. He was a fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute and was elected a fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 1960. The Alexander Memorial Fund was established in 1978 as a result of an appeal by the University of Sydney and the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry).

Previous Alexander Lecturers

1981 J.T.G. Overbeek (Utrecht)
1982 R.H. Ottewill (Bristol)
1984 R.K. Iler (E I DuPont de Nemours, Delaware, US)
1986 D.A. Haydon (Cambridge)
1987 R.J. Hunter (Sydney)
1988 B.W. Ninham (ANU)
1991 T.W. Healy (Melbourne)
1992 J.N. Israelachvili (U.C. Santa Barbara)
1994 J. Lyklema (Wageningen)
1997 G.T. Barnes (Queensland)
1998 R. Buscall (ICI Technology)
2001 T. Kunitake (RIKEN)
2003 M. Almgren (Uppsala)
2005 John Ralston (U. South Australia)
2007 Professor Brian Vincent (Bristol)
2009 Franz Grieser (Melbourne)
2011 Kazue Kurihara (Tohoku)
2013 Roger Horn (Deakin University)