achievements and latest news

Dr Bun Chan, Research Fellow, has received a JSPS Invitation Fellowship (Long-Term) to undertake collaborative research in Japan with Professor Kimihiko Hirao at RIKEN Advanced Institute for Computational Science during the second half of the year.

PhD candidate, Mr Sam Liu, has won an Oral presentation prize at this years AXAA meeting in Perth. This award consists of AU$1000 travel sponsor ship and the Robert L Snyder award (US$1000) and registration to attend the 2014 Denver X-ray Conference held in Big Sky, Montana USA.

Meet our newest Postgraduate Teaching Fellows. They are: Clara Shen; Katrina Badiola; James Timothy Williams; Mingyue Kardashinsky; David McDonald and Edward O'Neill.

The Australian Academy of Science Selby Fellow, Professor Ullrich Steiner, visits the University of Sydney. "From lotus leaves to geckos' feet, the intricate structures of natural materials still hold many secrets that intrigue humans, and can benefit them. On 20 February at a Sydney Ideas lecture at the University of Sydney, Professor Ullrich Steiner, the John Humphrey Plummer Professor of the Physics of Materials at the University of Cambridge, described the latest research based on recreating the extraordinary properties of natural materials." Read more here.

Professor John Canning has won CONSELHO NACIONAL DE DESENVOLVIMENTO CIENTÍFICO E TECNOLÓGICO - (CNPq)  Science without Borders 3yr Program funding (Visiting professorship, student exchange and project funding) between UTFPR Curitiba, Brazil and The University of Sydney, Australia to develop the next generation of optical sensors.

Professor John Canning was a partner applicant of a successful Chinese Government Research Program to bring foreign experts in a joint new technology research between Chengdu University of Technology, Chengdu and The University of Sydney, Australia. His work will focus on sensor device development using the self-assembly work he and his group have pioneered.

Micron Optics Incorporated, the world’s leading industrial optical fibre sensing company has partnered with iPL and donated more than $US 54k worth of interrogation and sensor equipment to help teach state-of-the-art optical fibre sensing at The University of Sydney.

Technology milestone! In a joint collaboration between Professor John Canning, Dr Sandra Ast and Associate Professor Peter Rutledge (School of Chemistry) and Professor Abbas Jamalipour (School of Engineering), the world’s first demonstration of a smartphone fluorometer (i.e. “lab-in-a-phone”) was used to measure live the field pH of both ocean and freshwater samples around Sydney (recently submitted for publication). The measurements were carried out by joint iPL/Engineering PhD student Mr Arafat Hossain.

Congratulations to PhD candidate, Ms Josie Auckett, who has received a Rising Star Award from the Society of Crystallographers in Australia and New Zealand (SCANZ) to speak at the upcoming Crystal29 conference in Queensland.

Congratulations to Associate Professor Ron Clarke, who has been awarded a fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to go and do research at the Technical University Berlin at the end of the year.

Congratulations to PhD candidate, Ms Jessica Stanley, who received a 2014 Australia Day Award by the National Council of Women NSW, sponsored by the Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (SMSA). Jessica received her award by Verity Firth, CEO of the Public Education Foundation, in the distinguished presence of Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AC CVO Governor of NSW, at the "Celebrate Being an Australian" Australia Day Luncheon at Parliament House, Sydney on 23 January, 2014.

Congratulations to Associate Professor Richard Payne, who has received the 2014 Le Fèvre Memorial Prize for chemistry research. The RJW Le Fèvre Memorial Prize commemorates the work of the late Professor RJW Le Fèvre, FAA, FRS. Its purpose is to recognise outstanding basic research in chemistry by researchers up to 15 years post-PhD in the calendar year of nomination. The prize of $3000 (GST exempt) is awarded annually at a Royal Australian Chemical Institute function.

Congratulations to Chemistry graduand, Mr Yue Wu, who has received a 2014 Endeavour Fellowship to undertake a postdoctoral position with Professor Jeffrey R. Long from the Department of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley.  Endeavour Fellowships are an internationally competitive program for Australians to undertake study, research and professional development abroad.

Congratulations to Professor Michael Kassiou who was officially elected into the Fellowship of Asian Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (AFMC) in 2013 for his outstanding and significant contribution to science, medicinal chemistry, and to the federation.

Congratulations to PhD candidate, Ms Jessica Stanley, who has been awarded one of four Royal Society of New South Wales Scholarships for 2013. The award consists of a certificate acknowledging her achievement, a $500 prize and a complimentary year of membership of the Society.  Jessica will be expected to submit a paper to the Society's Journal and to deliver a short presentation of her work at the general meeting of the Society in February 2014.

Congratulations to Mat Todd, Siggi Schmid and Peter Rutledge who have been promoted to Associate Professors as of 1 January, 2014.