from the head of school


Welcome to the School of Chemistry. We hope this site contains all the information you might need whether you are a thinking of studying here or are interested in finding out about the various research activities that the School is involved in.

The School is one of the largest Chemistry Schools in Australia. It is also the oldest, with the establishment of the Chair of Chemistry and Experimental Physics in 1851. Today, its undergraduate enrolments (Years 1 to 3) average 2,500 each semester, while there are over 40 students enrolled in the Honours program and over 100 postgraduate students studying for either Masters or PhD degrees, including a large cohort of International students.

We currently have 36 academic staff, six Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science, a Federation Fellow, a Future Fellow and over 60 research fellows/postdoctoral staff. Over 40 administrative, technical and professional staff help support the running of the School.There are 36 research groups working in the following main areas of chemistry:

The School is well-equipped with modern research instrumentation including a large number of major research facilities.

In 2012, members of the School received over $7.3M in new research funding, leading to a total of 32 Discovery Grants, 3 ARC Future Fellows; 7 other Fellowships and 6 Linkage Grants from the Australian Research Council, totaling (with other grants) $12.1M in competitive research funding. Our research continues to receive national and international recognition with highlights in 2012 including the David Craig Medal and the Robert Burns Woodward Career award to Professor Max Crossley; the RACI Weickhardt Medal for Distinguished Contribution to Economic Advancement to Professor Thomas Maschmeyer; the RACI Applied Research Award to Professor S├ębastien Perrier; the Ahmed Zewail Prize in Molecular Sciences to Emeritus Professor Noel Hush; the Asian and Oceanian Photochemistry Association prize to Associate Professor Tim Schmidt; PhD candidate, Ms Lara Malins, who was awarded the prestigious RACI Feutrill Prize and a number of other prizes, and Professor Scott Kable and Associate Professor Meredith Jordan, who were lead authors of a study published in Science.

Professor Kate Jolliffe
Head of School