Latest news

Latest research news

Unlocking the secrets of crystals

15 April, 2015

A/Prof Chris Ling and his students use crystallography to discover and improve new solid-state materials for energy conversion and storage devices – and even when their experiments fail, they still make pretty pictures.  Read more.

3D printing enables a smartphone's transformation into a dual spectrometer

13 April, 2015

A project conducted by researchers in the interdisciplinary Photonics Laboratory (iPL), the School of Chemistry and the School of Electrical and Information Engineering at The University of Sydney, have built a functional, dual absorption and fluorescence spectrometer combining a smartphone and its set of electronic sensors (and CMOS chip) and a 3D printed enclosure.   Read more.

Top 5 under 40 winners announced

27 March, 2015

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Dr Alice Williamson, is one of only five selected out of a national field of young (under-40 year old) scientists that are passionate about their area and have a vision of the future.  This will culminate in the recording of The Science Show on Radio National.  Read more.

Finding an affordable way to use graphene is the key to its success

19 March, 2015

Scientists have long been excited about the potential for graphene to revolutionise technologies, and even consider it a technology itself. Graphene is the best known conductor of electricity and heat. It is also the thinnest surface and represents the next generation wonder material for everyday applications in electronics.  Read more.



Professor Richard Payne has been awarded a Chemical Society of Japan Distinguished Lectureship Award. 

Professor Richard Payne is the recipient of the 2015 MedChemComm Emerging Investigator Lectureship.  Read more.

Chemistry alumna, Dr Karena Chapman, has received the prestigious international 2015 MRS Outstanding Young Investigator Award for contributions to energy-relevant systems.  Currently a scientist working in the X-ray Science Division of Argonne National Laboratory, Karena received her BSc and PhD degrees in chemistry from The University of Sydney in the Kepert Research Group.

Following on from his recent Chancellor’s Distinguished Fellowship, A/Prof. Lou Rendina has been appointed as an Adjunct Professor at the International Institute of Nano and Molecular Medicine (I2NM2) in the USA, the first time an Australian scientist has been appointed by the Institute.  I2NM2 is a world-leading research centre dedicated to the discovery and application of fundamental and translational medical science based upon previously unexplored chemistry combined with nanotechnology and the biosciences, funded by the University of Missouri, NIH, DOE, NSF, and Honeywell.  The design of new boron and gadolinium agents for binary cancer therapies and the application of boron clusters in medicinal chemistry were two of A/Prof. Rendina's research areas highlighted by the Institute.

Professor Cameron Kepert has been awarded the Burrows Award, presented following his delivery of the Burrows Lecture at the RACI National Congress in Adelaide. The Award is presented by the Inorganic Division of the RACI and commemorates George Joseph Burrows (1888-1950). Burrows was appointed to the staff of the University of Sydney in 1919 and made important contributions to coordination chemistry during the following 21 years, especially in the field of metal-tertiary arsine complexes. The Award is based on consideration of the candidate’s scientific work published in the past 10 years, together with other evidence of his or her standing in the international community.  Read more.

Professor Richard Payne has been awarded the 2015 Leo Dintenfass Memorial Award for Excellence in Research by The Rebecca L. Cooper Medical Research Foundation for his research entitled “Automated purification platform for accelerated tuberculosis drug discovery”.  Awarded to applications judged by the Directors of the Foundation to be the most interesting or innovative of the year.  Professor Payne has also been awarded a Rebecca L. Cooper Medical Research Foundation Grant. Read more.

Professor Richard Payne has been awarded the 2014 Edgeworth David Medal by the Royal Society of NSW. He will receive the medal during 2015.  Read more.
Dr Asaph Widmer-Cooper has been awarded an ARC Future Fellowship to characterise the interactions between colloidal nanorods and their self-assembly in the presence of interfaces and directional interactions. While nanoparticles can currently be made in a staggering array of shapes, patterns and materials, organising such objects into extended structures that could revolutionise technology remains a challenge. The goal of the project is a robust strategy for making monolayer films of rods aligned perpendicular to a variety of interfaces for the fabrication of solar cells, microfiltration membranes and biosensors.
Congratulations to Richard Payne and Adam Bridgeman who have both been promoted to Professor.  Further congratulations to Chiara Neto who has been promoted to Associate Professor. Well done!

Latest funding outcomes


Congratulations to everyone who has received funding for 2015.  Read more.