2017 seminar program

Seminar coordinators:

How to book a seminar

Map


January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December

JANUARY

9-31 January, 2017

WEEK 9-13  
Monday 9/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Tuesday 10/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Wednesday 11/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Thursday 12/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Friday 13/1/17

School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Henry F. Schaefer III, Center for Computational Quantum Chemistry, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia, USA. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry Rm 418, Level 4 [Map]. Talk: An Optimistic picture of a career of 50 years in theoretical chemistry. Host: Prof Leo Radom. All welcome. No booking required. Free.

   
WEEK 16-20  
Monday 16/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Tuesday 17/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Wednesday 18/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Thursday 19/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Friday 20/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
   
WEEK 23-27 Abstracts can be found here.
Monday 23/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Tuesday 24/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Wednesday 25/1/17

School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor S. Ramasesha, Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry Rm 418, Level 4 [Map]. Talk: Electron correlations and excited states in conjugated polymers. Host: Dr Girish Lakhwani. All welcome. No booking required. Free.

 

School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Thomas Vogt, Educational Foundation Endowed Professor of Chemistry, and Director of the NanoCenter at the University of South Carolina . Time: 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry Rm 418, Level 4 [Map]. Talk: From bright to dark field STEM - Imaging both cations and anions. Host: Prof Brendan Kennedy. All welcome. No booking required. Free.

Thursday 26/1/17 Australia Day (Holiday)
Friday 27/1/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Drew Parsons, Senior Lecturer in Extractive Metallurgy, School of Engineering and Information Technology, Murdoch University. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry Rm 418, Level 4 [Map]. Talk: Surface forces and adhesion at redox electrodes. Host: A/Prof Chiara Neto. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 30-31  
Monday 30/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)
Tuesday 31/1/17 Available. (NB: LTs 1 to 4 are unavailable)

february

1-28 February, 2017

WEEK 1-3 Abstracts can be found here.
Wednesday 1/2/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Kenso Soai, Department of Applied Chemistry, Tokyo University of Science, Japan. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: New Law School Lecture Theatre 024 [Map]. Talk: Asymmetric autocatalysis and the origin of homochirality. Host: A/Prof Mat Todd. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 2/2/17 Available.
Friday 3/2/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Helmuth Möhwald, Max Plank Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: New Law School Lecture Theatre 101 [Map]. Talk:  Self-organization at fluid interfaces: from organic monolayers to functional microapsules. Host: Dr Markus Müllner and Dr Girish Lakhwani. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 6-10  
Monday 6/2/17
AINST one day symposium on "Soft nanomaterials: Self-assembly"

Keynote speakers: Professor Helmuth Möhwald, former Director of the Max Planck Institute for Colloid Science in Golm, Professor Doris Vollmer, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, and Professor Kate Stebe, University of Pennsylvania, USA. Other researchers who work on soft nanomaterials at the University of Sydney will provide contributed talks.  Time:  10:00 am to 5:00 pm.  Venue:  Sydney Nanoscience Hub (SNH) [Map]. Host: A/Prof Chiara Neto.  It will be an exciting event for nano-scientists at Sydney University.  For more details please contact Chiara Neto.

Tuesday 7/2/17 Available.
Wednesday 8/2/17 Available.
Thursday 9/2/17 Available.
Friday 10/2/17 Available.
   
WEEK 13-17 Abstracts can be found here.
Monday 13/2/17 Postgraduate Seminar: Ms Minh Thu Lam, School of Chemistry, The University of Sydney.  Time: 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm. Refreshments to follow this lecture. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: Self-assembly of amphiphilic diblock co-oligomers in aqueous solution. Host: Prof Greg Warr. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Tuesday 14/2/17 Available.
Wednesday 15/2/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Muralee Murugesu, Department of Chemistry, The University of Ottawa, Canada. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: New Law School Lecture Theatre 106 [Map]. Talk: Nano-magnetic materials based on lanthanides. [Abstract] Host: Dr Suzanne Neville. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 16/2/17 Available.
Friday 17/2/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Erin Leitao, Department of Chemical Sciences, The University of Auckland, New Zealand. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: New Law School Lecture Theatre 106 [Map]. Talk: A Mechanistic tour in inorganic synthesis.  Host: Dr Markus Muellner. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 20-24 Abstracts can be found here.
Monday 20/2/17 Available.
Tuesday 21/2/17 Available.
Wednesday 22/2/17 Special Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Andrew Telford, Junior Research Fellow, Department of Physics, Imperial College London, UK. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: New Law School Lecture Theatre 106 [Map]. Talk: Solution-processed solar cells: soft matter for opto-electronic applications. [Abstract] Host:  A/Prof Chiara Neto. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 23/2/17 Available.
Friday 24/2/17 School Seminar:  Speaker:  Professor Peter Gill, Research School of Chemistry, Australian National University. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: Adventures in quantum chemistry. Host: E/Prof Leo Radom. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 27-28  
Monday 27/2/17 Postgraduate Seminar: Ms Alexandra Glenister, School of Chemistry, The University of Sydney.  Time: 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm. Refreshments to follow this lecture. Venue: Chemistry LT2, Level 1 [Map]. Talk: TBA Host: Prof Trevor Hambley. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Tuesday 28/2/17 Available.

March

1-31 March, 2017

WEEK 1-3  
Wednesday 1/3/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Ardalan Armin, School of Mathematics and Physics, University of Queensland.  Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: Dr Girish Lakhwani. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 2/3/17 Available.
Friday 3/3/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Jennifer MacLeod, Science and Engineering Faculty, Queensland University of Technology, Australia. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: Dr Markus Muellner. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 6-10  
Monday 6/3/17 Available.
Tuesday 7/3/17 Available.
Wednesday 8/3/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Junior Professor Rene Koenigs, RWTH Aachen University, Germany. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: Dr Ivan Kassal. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 9/3/17 Available.
Friday 10/3/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Rosalie Hocking, College of Science and Engineering, James Cook University. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: What geochemistry teaches us about catalyst design. Host: Dr Anna Renfrew. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 13-17  
Monday 13/3/17  Available.
Tuesday 14/3/17 Available.
Wednesday 15/3/17 Available.
Thursday 16/3/17 Available.
Friday 17/3/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Andreas Walther, Institute for Macromolecular Chemistry, Albert Ludwigs University of Freiburg, Germany. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: New Law School Lecture Theatre 106 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: Dr Markus Müllner. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 20-24  
Monday 20/3/17 Postgraduate Seminar: Ms Mingyue Kardashinsky, School of Chemistry, The University of Sydney.  Time: 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm. Refreshments to follow this lecture. Venue: Chemistry LT2, Level 1 [Map]. Talk: TBA Host: Prof Lou Rendina. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Tuesday 21/3/17 Available.
Wednesday 22/3/17 Available.
Thursday 23/3/17 Available.
Friday 24/3/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: To be announced soon.  Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: E/Prof Leo Radom. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 27-31  
Monday 27/3/17 Available.
Tuesday 28/3/17 Available.
Wednesday 29/3/17 Available.
Thursday 30/3/17 Available.
Friday 31/3/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Nick White, Research School of Chemistry, Australian National University. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: Dr Liz New. All welcome. No booking required. Free.

April

1-30 April, 2017

WEEK 3-7  
Monday 3/4/17 Available.
Tuesday 4/4/17 Available.
Wednesday 5/4/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Yue Wu, Postdoctoral Research Associate, FIHM Group, Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy, University of Cambridge, UK.  Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: In situ X-ray diffraction studies of materials synthesis. Host: Prof Cameron Kepert. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 6/4/17 Available.
Friday 7/4/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Brett Paull, Director of the Australian Centre for Research on Separation Science (ACROSS) and Director of the ARC Training Centre for Portable Analytical Separation Technologies (ASTech), School of Physical Sciences, University of Tasmania.  Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA.  Host: Dr Markus Muellner. All welcome. No booking required. Free.  
   
WEEK 10-14  
Monday 10/4/17  Available.
Tuesday 11/4/17 Available.
Wednesday 12/4/17 Available.
Thursday 13/4/17 Available.
Friday 14/4/17 Good Friday (Holiday)
   
WEEK 17-21  
Monday 17/4/17 Easter Monday (Holiday)
Tuesday 18/4/17 Available.
Wednesday 19/4/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Melanie MacGregor, Future Industries Institute, University of South Australia, Australia. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: Dr Markus Muellner. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 20/4/17 Available.
Friday 21/4/17 Available.
   
WEEK 24-28  
Monday 24/4/17 School Seminar:  Speaker:  Dr Gonçalo Bernardes, Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge, UK. Time: 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT2, Level 1 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: Prof Richard Payne. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Tuesday 25/4/17 Available.
Wedneday 26/4/17 Available.
Thursday 27/4/17 Available.
Friday 28/4/17 Available.

May

1-31 May, 2017

WEEK 1-5  
Monday 1/5/17
Available.
Tuesday 2/5/17 Available.
Wednedsay 3/5/17 Available.
Thursday 4/5/17 Available.
Friday 5/5/17 Available.
   
WEEK 8-12  
Monday 8/5/17 Available.
Tuesday 9/5/17 Available.
Wednesday 10/5/17 Available.
Thursday 11/5/17 Available.
Friday 12/5/17 Available.
   
WEEK 15-19  
Monday 15/5/17 Available.
Tuesday 16/5/17 Available.
Wednesday 17/5/17 Available.
Thursday 18/5/17 Available.
Friday 19/5/17 Available.
   
WEEK 22-26  
Monday 22/5/17 Available.
Tuesday 23/5/17 Available.
Wednesday 24/5/17 Available.
Thursday 25/5/17 Available.
Friday 26/5/17 Available.
   
WEEK 29-31  
Monday 29/5/17 Available.
Tuesday 30/5/17 Available.
Wednesday 31/5/17 Available.

June

1-30 June, 2017

WEEK 1-2  
Thursday 1/6/17 Available.
Friday 2/6/17 Available.
   
WEEK 5-9  
Monday 5/6/17 Available.
Tuesday 6/6/17 Available.
Wednesday 7/6/17 Available.
Thursday 8/6/17 Available.
Friday 9/6/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Dr Jenny Fisher, Centre for Atmospheric Chemistry, University of Wollongong.  Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: A/Prof Meredith Jordan. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 12-16  
Monday 12/6/17 Queen's Birthday (Holiday)
Tuesday 13/6/17 Available.
Wednesday 14/6/17 Available.
Thursday 15/6/17 Available.
Friday 16/6/17 Available.
   
WEEK 19-23  
Monday 19/6/17 Mid-year honours students seminars, 9:00am to 4:00pm in Chemistry Lecture Theatre 4.
Tuesday 20/6/17 Available.
Wednesday 21/6/17 Available.
Thursday 22/6/17 Available.
Friday 23/6/17 Available.
   
WEEK 26-30  
Monday 26/6/17 Available.
Tuesday 27/6/17 Available.
Wednesday 28/6/17 Available.
Thursday 29/6/17 Available.
Friday 30/6/17 Available.

July

1-31 July, 2017

WEEK 3-7  
Monday 3/7/17 Available.
Tuesday 4/7/17 Available.
Wednesday 5/7/17 Available.
Thursday 6/7/17 Available.
Friday 7/7/17 Available.
   
WEEK 10-14  
Monday 10/7/17 Available.
Tuesday 11/7/17 Available.
Wednesday 12/7/17 Available.
Thursday 13/7/17 Available.
Friday 14/7/17 Available.
   
WEEK 17-21  
Monday 17/7/17 Available.
Tuesday 18/7/17 Available.
Wednesday 19/7/17 Available.
Thursday 20/7/17 Available.
Friday 21/7/17 Available.
   
WEEK 24-28  
Monday 24/7/17 Available.
Tuesday 25/7/17 Available.
Wedneday 26/7/17 Available.
Thursday 27/7/17 Available.
Friday 28/7/17 Available.

August

1-31 August, 2017

WEEK 1-4  
Tuesday 1/8/17 Available.
Wednesday 2/8/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Stuart Conway, Department of Chemistry, University of Oxford Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: A/Prof Mat Todd. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 3/8/17 Available.
Friday 4/8/17 Available.
   
WEEK 7-11  
Monday 7/8/17 Available.
Tuesday 8/8/17 Available.
Wednesday 9/8/17 Available.
Thursday 10/8/17 Available.
Friday 11/8/17 Available.
   
WEEK 14-18  
Monday 14/8/17 Available.
Tuesday 15/8/17 Available.
Wednesday 16/8/17 Available.
Thursday 17/8/17 Available.
Friday 18/8/17 Available.
   
WEEK 21-25  
Monday 21/8/17 Available.
Tuesday 22/8/17 Available.
Wednesday 23/8/17 Available.
Thursday 24/8/17 Available.
Friday 25/8/17 Available.
   
WEEK 28-31  
Monday 28/8/17 Available.
Tuesday 29/8/17 Available.
Wednesday 30/8/17 Available.
Thursday 31/8/17 Available.

September

1-30 September, 2017

WEEK 1-1  
Friday 1/9/17 Available.
   
WEEK 4-8
 
Monday 4/9/17 Available.
Tuesday 5/9/17 Available.
Wednesday 6/9/17 Available.
Thursday 7/9/17 Available.
Friday 8/9/17 Available.
   
WEEK 11-15  
Monday 11/9/17 Available.
Tuesday 12/9/17 Available.
Wednesday 13/9/17 Available.
Thursday 14/9/17 Available.
Friday 15/9/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Emeritus Professor Richard Keene, Department of Chemistry, School of Physical Sciences, University of Adelaide. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: A/Prof Deanna D'Alessandro.  All welcome. No booking required. Free.
   
WEEK 18-22  
Monday 18/9/17 Available.
Tuesday 19/9/17 Available.
Wednesday 20/9/17 Available.
Thursday 21/9/17 Available.
Friday 22/9/17 Available.
   
WEEK 25-29  
Monday 25/9/17 Available.
Tuesday 26/9/17 Available.
Wedneday 27/9/17 School Seminar:  Speaker: Professor Nico Voelcker, Future Industries Institute, University of South Australia. Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm. Venue: Chemistry LT4, Level 2 [Map]. Talk: TBA. Host: Dr Markus Müllner. All welcome. No booking required. Free.
Thursday 28/9/17 Available.
Friday 29/9/17 Available.

October

1-31 October, 2017

WEEK 2-6
 
Monday 2/10/17 Labour Day (Holiday)
Tuesday 3/10/17 Available.
Wednesday 4/10/17 Available.
Thursday 5/10/17 Available.
Friday 6/10/17 Available.
   
WEEK 9-13  
Monday 9/10/17 Available.
Tuesday 10/10/17 Available.
Wednesday 11/10/17 Available.
Thursday 12/10/17 Available.
Friday 13/10/17 Available.
   
WEEK 16-20  
Monday 16/10/17 Available.
Tuesday 17/10/17 Available.
Wednesday 18/10/17 Available.
Thursday 19/10/17 Available.
Friday 20/10/17 Available.
   
WEEK 23-27  
Monday 23/10/17 Available.
Tuesday 24/10/17 Available.
Wednesday 25/10/17 Available.
Thursday 26/10/17 Available.
Friday 27/10/17 Available.
   
WEEK 30-31  
Monday 30/10/17 Available.
Tuesday 31/10/17 Available.

November

1-30 November, 2017

WEEK 1-3
 
Wednesday 1/11/17 Available.
Thursday 2/11/17 Available.
Friday 3/11/17 Available.
   
WEEK 6-10  
Monday 6/11/17 Available.
Tuesday 7/11/17 Available.
Wednesday 8/11/17 Available.
Thursday 9/11/17 Available.
Friday 10/11/17 Available.
   
WEEK 13-17  
Monday 13/11/17 February-start Honours students seminars, 9:00am to 4:00pm in Chemistry Lecture Theatre 4.
Tuesday 14/11/17 February-start Honours students seminars, 9:00am to 4:00pm in Chemistry Lecture Theatre 4.
Wednesday 15/11/17 Available.
Thursday 16/11/17 Available.
Friday 17/11/17 Available.
   
WEEK 20-24  
Monday 20/11/17 Available.
Tuesday 21/11/17 Available.
Wednesday 22/11/17 Available.
Thursday 23/11/17 Available.
Friday 24/11/17 Available.
   
WEEK 27-30  
Monday 27/11/17 Available.
Tuesday 28/11/17 Available.
Wednesday 29/11/17 Available.
Thursday 30/11/17 Available.

December

1-31 December, 2017

WEEK 1-1
 
Friday 1/12/17 Available.
   
WEEK 4-8  
Monday 4/12/17 Available.
Tuesday 5/12/17 Available.
Wednesday 6/12/17 Available.
Thursday 7/12/17 Available.
Friday 8/12/17 Available.
   
WEEK 11-15  
Monday 11/12/17 Available.
Tuesday 12/12/17 Available.
Wednesday 13/12/17 Available.
Thursday 14/12/17 Available.
Friday 15/12/17 Available.
   
WEEK 18-22  
Monday 18/12/17 Available.
Tuesday 19/12/17 Available.
Wednesday 20/12/17 Available.
Thursday 21/12/17 Available.
Friday 22/12/17 Available.

How to book a seminar

School seminars: You will need to check the seminar page for availability, then email (cc to and the seminar coordinators (see top of page)) with details of speaker, institution and proposed date. If your speaker requires travel and accommodation please contact Dimetra. Please send graphical abstract (Word doc) to Dimetra and Anne a week before the event so it can be advertised properly in ChemNews and the TV screen in the foyer. For Friday seminars only, tell Dimetra whether the lunch will be with students (in room 418) or with academics. In the week of the seminar, organise the schedule for the day; if necessary, organise for 3 to 5 students to attend the lunch (nominating 1 to pick up the lunch from Dimetra, and another to take the speaker to room 418. School seminars are held on Wednesdays and Fridays at 11:00am.

Postgraduate seminars: Check for availability of Mondays then advise your supervisor and of the date. Please send abstract to Dimetra and Anne a week before the event so it can be advertised properly. Postgraduate seminars are held on Mondays from 4:00pm.

All others (known as Special seminars): You will need to check the seminar page for availability, bearing in mind that the School seminars (Wednesdays and Fridays at 11:00am) and Postgraduate seminars (Mondays at 4:00pm) are permanently booked. Once you have chosen a date and time please email details (including preferred venue; date, time, name of speaker and institution) to and . Please send abstract to Dimetra and Anne a week before the event so it can be advertised properly. Please note that Dimetra has to book a lecture theatre/room so it is important to notify her of any proposed special seminars.