Sydney Early Modern Science Group

What we do

The Sydney Early Modern Science group is dedicated to the study of the coming to being of science as a culture, set of practices, modes of philosophical reflection and bodies of knowledge from (approximately) the 16th to the 18th centuries. It comprises students and scholars from universities in the Sydney area and their international affiliates.

It is dedicated to promoting research and the dissemination of ideas in the field by convening workshops and colloquia, sponsoring local and international collaborative research projects and providing assistance and guidance to students and early career scholars in setting research projects and developing grant proposals.

Who we are

Academic Staff and Coordinators
Dr. Ofer Gal. ofer.gal@sydney.edu.au
Dr. Victor Boantza. victor.boantza@sydney.edu.au

Members
Peter Anstey - peter.anstey@otago.ac.nz
Luciano Boschiero - luciano_boschiero@hotmail.com
Raz Chen-Morris - chenraz@mail.biu.ac.il
John Gascoigne - j.gascoigne@unsw.edu.au
Stephen Gaukroger - stephen.gaukroger@usyd.edu.au
David Gilad - davgilad@gmail.com
David Oldroyd - doldroyd@optushome.com.au
Alan Salter - alan.salter@sydney.edu.au
John Schuster - drjaschuster@gmail.com
John Sutton - John.Sutton@scmp.mq.edu.au
Anik Waldow - anik.waldow@arts.usyd.edu.au
Richard Yeo- r.yeo@griffith.edu.au

Postgraduate Students
Claire Kennedy - cken2282@mail.usyd.edu.au
Kiran Krishna - kkri9701@mail.usyd.edu.au
Ian Lawson - ian.r.lawson@gmail.com
Sarah Galbraith - SMSGALBRAITH@op-tn.org