Dr Milena Ivanova

MA University of Athens
PhD University of Bristol

Milena’s main area of research is the history of philosophy of science, in particular the origin and evolution of French conventionalism (i.e. Pierre Duhem and Henri Poincare) in relation to the structuralism debate. She also works on general issues in philosophy of science such as scientific rationality, the problem of underdetermination of theory by evidence and the role of epistemic virtues in theory choice. She is also interested in epistemology and its connections to philosophy of science.

Website: Milena Ivanova

Selected Publications

(7) Ivanova M. (forthcoming) Is There a Place for Epistemic Virtues in Theory Choice?, Virtue Scientia: Bridges Between Virtue Epistemology and Philosophy of Science (Abrol Fairweather ed.), Synthese Library
(6) Ivanova M. (forthcoming) Did Perrin's Experiments Convert Poincaré to Scientific Realism?, HOPOS: The Journal of the International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science
(5) Ivanova M. and Paternotte C. (2012) Theory Choice, Good Sense and Social Consensus, Erkenntnis, (online first)
(4) Ivanova M. (2011) ‘Good Sense’ in Context: A Response to Kidd, Studies in History and Philosophy of Science, Vol. 42, pp. 610-612
(3) Ivanova M. (2011) Friedman's Relativized A Priori and Structural Realism: In Search of Compatibility, International Studies in the Philosophy of Science, Vol. 25, pp. 23-37
(2) Ivanova M. (2010) Pierre Duhem’s Good Sense as a Guide to Theory Choice, Studies in the History and Philosophy of Science, Vol. 41, pp. 58-64
(1) Ivanova M. and Psillos S. (2007) Pierre Duhem’s Philosophy of Science, in Duhem, P. To Save the Phenomena, Nefeli publications (in Greek)

Other Professional Contributions

Guest Editor for Studies in the History and Philosophy of Modern Physics, Proceedings of Conference on “Conventional Principles in Science”

Principal Organiser Conference on Conventional Principles in Science 18-19 August 2011 Website

Honours and Awards

Royal Institute of Philosophy Jacobsen Fellowship (2011)
British Society for the Philosophy of Science Studentship (2009)
Sasakawa Young Leaders Fellowship (2006)