Pawsey Medal awarded to Professor Ben Eggleton

Professor Ben Eggleton

Professor Ben Eggleton has been awarded the 2007 Pawsey Medal by the Australian Academy of Science (AAS) for his research in optical device physics and photonics, which is crucial to the development of the next generation of communication technologies. Professor Eggleton, who is the director of the ARC Centre of Excellence CUDOS, was presented with the Medal at the AAS's annual three-day celebration of science and scientific research, Science at the Shine Dome, held on 2nd, 3rd and 4th of May.

Ben has pioneered research in optical device physics and photonics, and has made seminal contributions to the development of the photonic chip. His research achievements include the first experimental observation of nonlinear pulse propogation in photonic crystals, ground-breaking work on geometries for photonic crystal fibres, and the demonstration of highly original and significant nonlinear waveguide.

Ben joins an illustrious group of scientists who have been recipients of the Pawsey Medal, which recognises outstanding research in physics, conducted in Australia, by scientists under 40 years of age.

Since its establishment in 1967 there have been 41 medals awarded, with Lord Sir Robert May (an alumni and former Professor in Theoretical Physics in the School of Physics) being the inaugural winner. We now have seven medallists currently in the School of Physics - this must be a record! Our stars are:

Professor Ben Eggleton (2007)
Professor Marcela Bilek (2004)
Professor Sergey Vladimirov (2002)
Professor Martijn deSterke (1999)
Professor Peter Robinson (1995)
Adjunct Professor Richard Manchester (1978)
Professor Don Melrose (1974)