Postgraduate Scholarships & Awards

The Australian government and the University of Sydney offer postgraduate scholarships for suitably qualified students to pursue research degrees. The scholarship opportunities available differ for Australian domestic students and international students.

Domestic Students
Information for Australian students seeking stipend support for living expenses via government and University funding streams.

International Students
International students may apply for scholarships supporting tuition, fees, and living expenses. The most relevant is generally the RTP Fee Offset and Stipend Scholarship.

For international students who are successful in being awarded a scholarship that does not include Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), the School may cover that insurance cost.

School of Physics Scholarships

Students must have applied for an Australian government or University scholarship (follow the links above) in the first instance to be considered for a School of Physics scholarship.

The School of Physics will occasionally provide support schemes for postgraduate students enrolled or about to enrol in a higher research degree with the School. These include scholarships offered by specific research groups within the school to support tuition, and or living expenses.

Sydney Neuro-Oncology Group Scholarships

The Sydney Neuro-Oncology Group is devoted to improving outcomes for patients affected by brain cancer through education, support and research. The research is aimed at advancing our understanding of the disorder, their diagnosis and treatments. The research unit is located within the Bill Walsh Translational Cancer Research Laboratory, Kolling Institute, University of Sydney on the Royal North Shore Hospital campus.

The recent acquisition of a state-of-the-art pre-clinical image-guided irradiator has led to opportunities for cross-disciplinary pre-clinical research projects in radiation and radiation therapy alone or in combination with other therapeutic modalities.

Applicants must be Australian citizens, permanent residents of Australia, or New Zealand citizens holding a Special Category Visa. Two PhD scholarships are available, each valued at $35,000 p.a. (tax exempt) for three years.

For further information regarding these Scholarships please contact Dr Viive Howell, Laboratory Research Director, email: or telephone: +61 2 9926 4758.

The Hunstead Merit Award for Astrophysics

The Hunstead Merit Award for Astrophysics was established in 2015 to provide a top-up of value $5000 per year to PhD students enrolling with the Sydney Institute for Astronomy (SIfA) in the School of Physics.

The award is available to students who did not undertake their undergraduate studies at the University of Sydney. The goal of this award is to attract top students to undertake cutting-edge research at SIfA. Their internationally recognised research programs include computational and theoretical astrophysics, optical and radio astronomy studying stars, galaxies and cosmology, and the development of novel, next-generation instrumentation.

Applications are open to students eligible for domestic scholarships (RTP Stipend, UPA, etc.) including Australian and New Zealand citizens, and permanent residents. Students who completed their undergraduate studies at The University of Sydney are not eligible to apply.

A maximum of two awards will be made annually. While merit will be the primary criteria, one award will be reserved for women and other underrepresented groups within the astronomical community. No separate application is required, but a copy of the PhD application and a letter of support should be forwarded by the prospective supervisor to .