Our Inspiring ISS Speakers

The backbone of the International Science School is our series of talks by research leaders from across Australia and around the world. Over the many years of the program we have heard inspiring lectures by:

  • James Watson, winner of the Nobel Prize for the discovery of the structure of DNA — ISS1964
  • Margaret Burbidge, pioneering astronomer and first women president of the AAS — ISS1973
  • Jerome Friedman, winner of the Nobel Prize for the discovery of quarks — ISS2003
  • Sir Hermann Bondi, renowned cosmologist at Cambridge University and Kings College London — ISS1962, 1963, 1965, 1967, 1970, 1979, 1983
  • Sir Gus Nossal, distinguished immunology researcher — ISS1971, 1987
  • Lord Robert May, population dynamics pioneer past president of The Royal Society — ISS1968, 1972, 1985, 1987, 1991
  • Jill Tarter, astronomer and SETI leader — ISS2009
  • Carl Sagan, renowned astronomer and science communicator — ISS1973
  • Julius Sumner Miller, infamous science communicator — too many ISSs to list!
  • Sir John Pendry, invisibility pioneer and metamaterials expert — ISS2011
  • Lawrence Krauss, renowned cosmologist and best-selling author — ISS2015
  • Tanya Monro, leader in photonics research — ISS2001, 2013
  • and the ever-popular Dr Karl Kruszelnicki AM, the University of Sydney's Julius Sumner Miller Fellow — every ISS since 1995, and counting!