The WiSci Project


The Women in Science Project was started in the Faculty of Science in 2007. It began with the awareness of the fact that, while women are well represented among undergraduate and postgraduate students and even among postdoctoral fellows, they are under-represented among staff in senior academic roles. Women are also over-represented in the lower levels of the academic hierarchy and tend not to apply for promotion in the same numbers as men.
The project’s focus is now the Division of Natural Sciences, which consists of the Faculties of Science, Veterinary Science, and Agriculture and Environment. We also work closely with the School of Medical Sciences. The project goals are to:

  • Identify some of the obstacles that prevent women achieving senior roles in the sciences
  • Encourage more women into senior academic roles within the Division of Natural Sciences
  • Support more women to achieve satisfying and productive careers in science

The 2014 Diana Temple Memorial Lecture

Diana Temple Lecture

Presented by Professor Margaret Sheil

This annual lecture honours the memory of Dr Diana Temple AM, a former member of the University of Sydney community and an advocate for the role of women in science.

Thursday 30 October
11am – 12 midday (followed by a light lunch)
New Law Foyer, Level 2, New Law Building, Eastern Avenue

Professor Margaret Sheil has been the Provost at the University of Melbourne since April 2012. She is standing deputy to the Vice Chancellor and is responsible for policy and planning leadership of all teaching, learning and student-related matters, including student recruitment, curriculum and teaching quality and innovation. Her portfolio of responsibilities also includes international strategy, academic staffing and curriculum commercialisation.

The Diana Temple Memorial Lecture is presented by the Women in Science Project and the Discipline of Pharmacology at the University of Sydney, in conjunction with the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science (ANZAAS) and the Women in Science Enquiry Network (WISENet).