Board of Interdisciplinary Studies

As per the University of Sydney (Governance of Faculties and University Schools) Rule 2016, Part 7, the Board of Interdisciplinary Studies (BIS) manages the Bachelor of Advanced Studies, the curriculum of the new Open Learning Environment and the majors, minors and units of study offered in the shared pool (Table S). The BIS also exercises academic oversight of interdisciplinary non-award courses. GOFUS Rules for BIS (Part 8, pages 41-44) (PDF 283KB)

Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Agendas, papers and minutes
Committee contact


The Board’s responsibilities include:

  1. cross-faculty supervision of the award of the cross-faculty qualifications listed in the related Senate resolutions
  2. academic oversight of the Bachelor of Advanced Studies
  3. academic oversight of the Open Learning Environment
  4. academic oversight of the shared pool (Table S)
    - approve changes to or removal of approved Table S majors, minors and electives
    - approve proposals for new Table S majors, minors and electives
  5. oversight, via a report to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education), on non-award courses.

BIS sub-committee sites can be found at:

Composition and membership



 Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, and Chair

Professor Stephen Garton

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education), and Deputy Chair

Professor Philippa Pattison

Chair, Academic Board

Associate Professor Tony Masters

Senior Lecturer FASS

Associate Professor Melissa Hardie

Associate Dean (Education), Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies

Professor David Lowe

Associate Dean (Education), Faculty of Health Sciences

Associate Professor Corinne Caillaud

Associate Dean (Undergraduate), Sydney Business School

Associate Professor Catherine Hardy (Semester 1)

Professor Rae Cooper (Semester 2)

Associate Dean (Education), Faculty of Science

Professor Pauline Ross

Academic Director, Charles Perkins Centre

Professor Stephen Simpson

Director and Future Fellow, Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (Delegate)

Dr Petr Matous

Director, China Studies Centre

Professor  Luigi Tomba

Director, Centre for Continuing Education and Sydney Learning

Kylie Mayes

President, SUPRA

Weihong Liang

President, SRC

Jacky He

Meeting dates and deadlines

2019 Meetings

Agenda items due

Agenda distributed

Meeting date

Wednesday 6 February 2019

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Wednesday 20 February 2019

2:30 – 3:30pm

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Wednesday 3 April 2019

Wednesday 10 April 2019

2:30 – 3:30pm

Wednesday 15 May 2019

Wednesday 22 May 2019

Wednesday 29 May 2019

2:30 – 3:30pm

Wednesday 3 July 2019

Wednesday 10 July 2019

Wednesday 17 July 2019

2:30 - 3:30pm

Thursday 12 September 2019

Thursday 19 September 2019

Thursday 26 September 2019

2:30 – 3:30pm

Wednesday 27 November 2019

Wednesday 4 December 2019

Wednesday 11 December 2019

2:30 – 3:30pm

Agendas, papers and minutes

Committee agenda, papers and minutes are confidential. Please contact the Committee Officer for information regarding the committee and its activities.




BIS Approval coversheet Dalyell units in Table S



BIS approval coversheet OLE units in Table O



Committee contact

Committee Officer
Dr Glenys Eddy
T +61 2 9351 8556