Higher Degree by Research (HDR) Scholarships Subcommittee

Draft terms of reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Draft terms of reference

This Subcommittee was re-constituted at the 28 November 2017 meeting of the Academic Board, at which draft Terms of Reference were approved. The Terms of Reference presented below are subject to discussion at the first meeting of the Subcommittee in 2018, with final approval anticipated at the 6 March 2018 meeting of the Academic Board.


The HDR Scholarships Subcommittee advises the Graduate Studies Committee about policy and procedures relating to the award of Australian Postgraduate Awards, University of Sydney Postgraduate Awards, Travelling Scholarships, Grants in Aid and other post-graduate awards, and takes decisions in accordance with the University of Sydney (Delegations Authority - Academic Functions) Rule 2016, the Student Recognition Awards Policy 2016, and resolutions of the Senate and the Academic Board relating to HDR scholarships.

Terms of reference

  1. To act for the Academic Board in awarding specific postgraduate scholarships and advise the Graduate Studies Committee on policy, procedures and selection criteria relating to the award of specific postgraduate scholarships:
    a. funded by Commonwealth (e.g. APA, IPRS); or
    b. funded by the University (e.g. UPA, USIS)
    c. by the Academic Board as specified in scholarship/prize conditions (e.g. travelling scholarships).
  2. To act for the Academic Board in determining University nominations for postgraduate scholarships required by external organisations.
  3. To oversee and monitor the effective implementation of policy and good practice relating to the award of specific postgraduate scholarships.
  4. To exercise all reasonable means to provide and receive advice from the University Executive and its relevant subcommittees.
  5. To provide regular reports on its activities under its terms of reference to the Graduate Studies Committee.
  6. To consider and report on any matter referred to it by the Academic Board, the Vice-Chancellor, the Graduate Studies Committee or the Chair of the Academic Board.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



the Chair of the HDR Scholarships Subcommittee

Professor Shae McCrystal (nominee)

On the nomination of the Chair of the Graduate Studies Committee, the Chair of the Academic Board shall biennially appoint one academic staff member from each faculty and one academic staff member to represent the University schools.

Professor Daniel Anlezark (Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences)

Associate Professor Uri Gal (Sydney Business School)

Professor Samuel Mueller (Faculty of Science)

Associate Professor Rhonda Orr, (Faculty of Health Sciences)

Professor Kim Rasmussen (Faculty of Engineering)

Associate Professor Lee Stickells (Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning)

Professor Victoria Cogger (Faculty of Medicine and Health)

Co-opted members


Meeting dates and deadlines

2019 Meetings


Agenda items due

Agenda distributed

Meeting date

Thursday 24 January 2019

Friday 25 January 2019

Friday 1 February 2019

2 - 4pm 

Thursday 21 February 2019

Friday 22 February 2019

Friday 1 March 2019

2 - 4pm  

Thursday 28 March 2019

Friday 29 March 2019

Friday 5 April 2019

2 - 4pm 

Monday 29 April 2019

Monday 29 April 2019

Friday 3 May 2019

2 - 4pm  

Thursday 30 May 2019

Friday 31 May 2019

Friday 7 June 2019

2 - 4pm  

Thursday 27 June 2019

Friday 28 June 2019

Friday 5 July 2019

2 - 4pm 

Thursday 25 July 2019

Friday 26 July 2019

Friday 2 August 2019

2 - 4pm  

Thursday 29 August 2019

Friday 30 August 2019

Friday 6 September 2019

2 - 4pm  

Thursday 10 October 2019

Friday 11 October 2019

Friday 18 October 2019

2 - 4pm  

Thursday 7 November 2019

Friday 8 November 2019

Friday 15 November 2019

2 - 4pm  

Thursday 5 December 2019

Friday 6 December 2019

Friday 13 December 2019

2 - 4pm 

Committee contact

Committee Officer, University Secretariat
Jacqueline Toroian
T +6128627 6906
E jacqueline.toroian@sydney.edu.au

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure HDRSSC SharePoint site.