Buildings and Estates Committee

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates
Meeting agendas and papers

Terms of Reference

The role of the Buildings and Estates Committee is to monitor and advise Senate on matters of planning, development and general oversight of the management of the University’s real property and physical infrastructure with particular reference to:

  • major capital developments
  • infrastructure management
  • operating resource allocation
  • sustainability
  • ensuring effective risk management in the areas covered by the committee’s remit
  • conducting deep dive reviews in in the areas covered by the committee’s remit.

The committee’s terms of reference are reflected in the University of Sydney (Delegations of Authority – Administrative Functions) Rule 2016 (‘the Delegations’), and can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



Term of office

Chair appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (Not a staff or student Fellow)

Peter Scott

Current term as Chair

1 June 2019-31 May 2021

Previous term as Chair

January 2018- November 2019

August 2016- December 2017

ex-officio members:


Belinda Hutchinson AM

Current term as Chancellor

February 2017 – February 2021

Previous term as Chancellor

February 2013 – February 2017

Deputy Chancellor

Richard Freudenstein

Current term as Deputy Chancellor

December 2017 – March 2020


Dr Michael Spence AC

Current term as Vice-Chancellor

July 2013 – December 2022

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor

July 2008 – June 2013

Three Fellows of Senate appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor


Dave Burrows


Current term

1 June 2019 – 31 May 2021


Tony Masters

Current term

January 2018 – 31 December 2019


Lizzie Miller

Current term

December 2018 – May 2020

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.


Dianne Leeson

Current term

1 June 2019 – 31 May 2021

Previous term

May 2017 –31 May 2019

March 2016 – May 2017


Terry Williamson

Current term

May 2018 – May 2020

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.


Vice-Principal (Operations) - Stephen Phillips

Chief Financial Officer - Wayne Andrews


Director, CIS - Greg Robsinson

Secretary to Senate - David Pacey


Others determined by the Chair

2019 meeting dates

Agenda deadline

Meeting date 

Wednesday 20 February

Friday 1 March

Monday 8 April

Wednesday 17 April

Wednesday 29 May

Friday 7 June

Wednesday 3 July

Friday 12 July

(Reserve) Monday 19 August

(Reserve) Wednesday 28 August

Wednesday 25 September

Friday 4 October

Wednesday 30 October

Friday 8 November


Committee Officer
Jacqueline Toroian
T +61 2 8627 6906

Meeting agendas and papers

Meeting agendas and papers are distributed to Committee members by the University Secretariat.