Education and Research Committee

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates
Meeting agendas and papers

Terms of Reference

The role of the Education and Research Committee is to monitor and advise Senate on strategies developed by the University in quality education and research, and on the University’s performance against those strategies. The Committee will monitor the strategies the University has developed in relation to:

  • the University’s contribution to society in quality education and research;
  • the University’s national and international positioning and competitive performance;
  • the student experience, student support and administrative processes; and
  • systems, processes and technology that support quality education and research.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



Term of office


Belinda Hutchinson AM (Chair)

Current term as Chancellor

February 2017 – February 2021

Previous term as Chancellor

February 2013 – February 2017

Deputy Chancellor


Current term as Deputy Chancellor



Dr Michael Spence AC

Current term as Vice-Chancellor

1 July 2013 – 31 December 2020

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor

11 July 2008 – 30 June 2013

Chair of Academic Board

Associate Professor Tony Masters

Current term as Chair of Academic Board

1 January 2016 – 31 December 2018

Three Fellows of Senate appointed by Senate and including at least one academic staff Fellow


Current term


Two other members with relevant expertise

Thomas Barlow

Emeritus Professor Alan Robson

Current term

18 March 2016 – May 2018 (both)

Previous term

1 January 2015 – 18 March 2016 (both)

Meeting dates

2017 Meeting dates


Meeting date

Meeting time

Wednesday 12 April

1.30 pm - 3.30 pm

Friday 4 August

1.30 pm - 3.30 pm

Friday 24 November

1.30 pm - 3.30 pm


Manager of Governance & Deputy Secretary to Senate
Philippa Scott
T +61 2 9351 2026

Meeting agendas and papers

Meeting agendas and papers are distributed to Committee members by the University Secretariat.