Finance and Audit Committee

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates
Meeting agendas and papers

Terms of Reference

The role of the committee is to monitor and advise Senate on:

  • issues relating to the financial performance and sustainability of the University, by reviewing and evaluating information provided by management on the financial impact of strategic proposals, budget and planning priorities, resource and capital allocation, and commercial activities
  • the University’s internal and external audit programs, including reliability of financial management and reporting, compliance with laws and regulations and the maintenance of an effective and efficient audit capability
  • ensuring the effective management of financial risk across the University, including the financial risks of subsidiaries and controlled entities
  • ensuring the effective management of non-financial risk in areas covered by the committee’s remit
  • conducting deep dive reviews in in the areas covered by the committee’s remit.

The committee’s terms of reference are reflected in the University of Sydney (Delegations of Authority – Administrative Functions) Rule 2016 (‘the Delegations’), and can be downloaded as a PDF.

The Finance and Audit Committee shall form an Investment Subcommittee

Composition and membership



Term of office

Chair appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (Not a staff or student Fellow)

Karen Moses

Current term as Chair

January 2018 – May 2020

ex-officio members:


Belinda Hutchinson AM

Current term as Chancellor

February 2017 – February 2021

Previous term as Chancellor

February 2013 – February 2017

Deputy Chancellor

Richard Freudenstein

Current term as Deputy Chancellor

December 2017 – March 2020


Dr Michael Spence AC

Current term as Vice-Chancellor

July 2013 – December 2022

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor

July 2008 – June 2013

Three Fellows of Senate appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor


Associate Professor Maryanne Large

Current term

1 June 2019 – 31 May 2021


Dr Lisa McIntyre

Current term

January 2018 – May 2019


Peter Scott

Current term

January 2018 – May 2019

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.


Alec Brennan AM

Current term

January 2018 – May 2020

Previous terms as Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee

May 2016  – December 2017

March 2014 – May 2016

March 2012 – March 2014

March 2010 – March 2012


Matthew Lunn

Current term

1 June 2019 - 31 May 2021

Previous term

May 2017 – May 2019

August 2015 May 2017

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.


Vice-Principal (Operations)

Stephen Phillips


Chief Financial Officer

Wayne Andrews


Director, Internal Audit

Eifion James


Others determined by the Chair

2019 meeting dates

Meeting date


Friday 8 March

2.00 - 4.30pm

Wednesday 24 April

2.00 - 4.30pm

Wednesday 19 June

2.00 - 4.30pm

Wednesday 17 July

2.00 - 4.30pm

Wednesday 4 September (Reserve)

2.00 - 4.30pm (Reserve)

Tuesday 8 October

1.30 - 4.00pm

Friday 29 November

9.30 - 12.00pm

2018 meeting dates

Meeting date


Wednesday 7 March

2.00 - 4.30pm

Thursday 26 April

1.00 - 3.30pm

Wednesday 13 June

2.00 - 4.30pm

Monday 13 August

1.15 - 3.45pm

Thursday 13 September

12.30 - 3.00pm

Tuesday 16 October

3.00 - 5.30pm

Wednesday 28 November

3.30 - 6.00pm


Committee Officer
Linda Goodman
T +61 2 8627 6301

Chief Financial Officer
Wayne Andrews
T +61 2 9351 3133

Executive Assistant to the Chief Financial Officer
Angele Taggart
T +61 2 9351 3133

Meeting agendas and papers

Meeting agendas and papers are distributed to Committee members by the University Secretariat.