Nominations and Appointments Committee

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates
Meeting agendas and papers

Terms of Reference

1. Appointed Fellows of Senate
With respect to Appointed Fellows of Senate the role of the Committee is specified clause 46B of the University of Sydney By-law 1999 (NSW) as follows:

46B Nominations procedure relating to appointed Fellows

  1. If the Senate is required to appoint a person under section 9(1)(c) of the Act, the Senate is to request the Nominations Committee to identify persons who may be suitable for appointment.
  2. The Committee is:
    (a) to determine which of the persons identified under subclause (1) or (2) are to be recommended to the Senate:
    -i). for nomination for consideration for appointment by the Minister, or
    -ii). for appointment by the Senate,
    as the case may be, and
    (b) to recommend the length of appointment for each such person, and
    (c) to forward those recommendations to the Senate.
  3. In determining the persons to be recommended under subclause (3)(a), the Committee is to have regard to:
    (a) the skills and experience of the continuing Fellows, and
    (b) the matters referred to in section 9(3) and (4) of the Act.
  4. The Senate:
    (a) is to consider the recommendations forwarded by the Nominations Committee, and
    (b) is to determine which of the recommended persons are to be nominated for appointment and may select one or more other persons for nomination in place of one or more of the recommended persons, and
    (c) is to determine which of the persons referred to in paragraph (b) are to be:
    -i). nominated for consideration for appointment by the Minister, or
    -ii). appointed by the Senate,
    as the case may be, and
    (d) is to determine:
    -i). in the case of the persons referred to in paragraph (c)(i), the recommended length of appointment for each such person, or
    -ii). in the case of the persons referred to in paragraph (c)(ii), the length of appointment for each such person.
  5. The Senate is, when selecting a person for nomination other than a person recommended by the Nominations Committee, to have regard to the matters referred to in subclause (4)(a) and (b).
  6. The Chancellor is to forward the determinations referred to in subclause (5)(c)(i) and (d)(i) to the Minister.

Note: In addition to meeting those requirements set out in the By-Law the Committee will give strong weight to the desirability of the inclusion of at least one Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander person among the Fellows of Senate

2. Honorary awards
With respect to honorary awards the Committee is to consider suggestions for honorary degrees and honorary fellowships and submit a report to Senate. Documentation received by the Committee will be available to Fellows for inspection.

3. Nomenclature
With respect to nomenclature the Committee is to review and make recommendations to Senate as regards naming proposals, changes to existing names or the discontinuation of existing names in relation to: University buildings and other significant assets; scholarships and prizes; centres and institutes and foundations.

4. Governance
With respect to governance the Committee is to monitor and advise Senate on governance issues generally as they relate to Senate and the University including induction and continuing education of Fellows, Senate performance reviews, committee structure and remits, and related matters.

5. Appointments other than to chairs
With respect to the approval of appointments other than to chairs the Committee is authorised by Senate to approve appointments to other University organisations where the appointee is not a Fellow.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



Term of office


Belinda Hutchinson AM (Chair)

Current term as Chancellor

February 2017 – February 2021

Previous term as Chancellor

February 2013 – February 2017

Deputy Chancellor


Current term as Deputy Chancellor



Dr Michael Spence AC

Current term as Vice-Chancellor

1 July 2013 – 31 December 2020

 Previous term as Vice-Chancellor

11 July 2008 – 30 June 2013

Chair of Academic Board

Associate Professor Tony Masters

Current term as Chair of Academic Board

1 January 2016 – 31 December 2018

Three Fellows of Senate who are external Fellows

Kate McClymont





Current term

May 2016 – May 2018

Previous term

3 February 2014 – May 2016

Two Fellows of Senate, elected by Senate


Current term

Co-opted members



Meeting dates 2017

Meeting date

Meeting time

Tuesday 7 February

11.00am - 1.00pm

Wednesday 12 April

10.00am - 12.00noon

Friday 28 July

2.00pm - 4.00pm

Friday 6 October

2.00pm - 4.00pm

Friday 17 November 

2.00pm - 4.00pm 


Executive Officer to Senate
Mark Smith
T +61 2 9351 4260

Secretary to Senate
David Pacey
T +61 2 9351 4839

Meeting agendas and papers

Meeting agendas and papers are distributed to Committee members by the University Secretariat.