Remuneration Subcommittee of the People and Culture Committee

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates
Meeting agendas and papers

Terms of Reference

The subcommittee’s terms of reference are reflected in the University of Sydney (Delegations of Authority – Administrative Functions) Rule 2016 (‘the Delegations’). The full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

The Remuneration Subcommittee is authorised by Senate to:

  • in accordance with Delegation 7.3.2, review the performance of the Vice-Chancellor, determine his or her incentive payments, and approve the terms of employment of the Vice-Chancellor
  • in accordance with Delegation 7.4.1, approve payment of performance bonuses for the Vice-Chancellor or a Deputy Vice-Chancellor, after consultation with Senate
  • review and approve the Vice-Chancellor’s recommendations regarding the remuneration, terms of employment and performance assessment of his direct reports.

Composition and membership



Term of office

Chair appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (Not a staff or student Fellow)

Professor Alan Pettigrew

Current term as Chair

May 2019 – May 2021

ex-officio members:


Belinda Hutchinson AM

Current term as Chancellor

February 2017 – February 2021

Previous term as Chancellor

February 2013 – February 2017

Deputy Chancellor

Richard Freudenstein

Current term as Deputy Chancellor

December 2017 – March 2020


Dr Michael Spence AC

Current term as Vice-Chancellor

July 2013 – December 2022

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor

July 2008 – June 2013

One Fellow of Senate who is a member of the People and Culture Committee and an external Fellow within the meaning of s9(9) of the University of Sydney Act, appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the subcommittee with the Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor.


Kate McClymont

Current term

January 2018 – May 2019

A minimum of one and up to two external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience, appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the subcommittee.


Jenni Smith

Current term

May 2018 – May 2020

Senate may, on the advice of the subcommittee, or of its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.


Vice-Principal (Operations)*

Stephen Phillips


Chief Human Resources Officer

Karen Haywood


Others determined by the Chair

*Except for the meeting to review the Vice-Chancellor’s remuneration.


2019 meeting dates

The Remuneration Subcommittee is convened as required, at least once annually.


Committee Officer
Caroline North
T +61 2 9114 1466

Meeting agendas and papers

Meeting agendas and papers are distributed to Committee members by the University Secretariat.