Strategy and Risk Committee

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates
Meeting agendas and papers

Terms of Reference

The role of the committee is to monitor and advise Senate on the University’s Strategy and strategic direction, risk, and major projects including those related to information technologies and digital transformation. Specifically, the committee monitors and provides advice on:

  • the University’s Major Projects, including those related to administration, services, resources, governance, education and research
  • performance against the 2016-2020 Strategic Plan
  • matters with specific regard to the University’s strategic IT projects, including oversight of:
    i. major system development and acquisition
    ii. management
    iii. operating resource allocation
    iv. sustainability
  • strategies developed by the University in education and research, and on the University’s performance against those strategies, including:
    i. the University’s contribution to society in quality education and research
    ii. the University’s national and international positioning and competitive performance
    iii. the student experience, student support and administrative processes
    iv. systems, processes and technology that support quality education and research
  • matters with specific regard to environmental risk, including:
    i. monitoring of environment-related risks
    ii. compliance with environment related legislation environment
  • matters with specific regard to the University’s strategic commercial activities, in accordance with the University’s Guidelines Concerning Commercial Activities and the assessment, risk management, approval, review and monitoring authorities set out in the University of Sydney (Delegations of Authority – Administrative Functions) Rule 2010, including:
    i. the commercialisation of research and the success of commercialisation strategies
    ii. the appropriateness of commercial activities policies
    iii. the sustainability of commercial activities
  • with regard to the University’s legal position and risk, the annual report on legislative compliance and legal proceedings from General Counsel
  • thematic strategic risks emerging from internal audit investigations, as identified by the Director, Internal Audit and the Chief Risk Officer
  • non-financial risks generally within the University unless they are dealt with by another committee of the Senate
  • deep dive reviews in the areas covered by the committee’s remit.

The Strategy and Risk Committee maintains oversight of the effectiveness of the risk management framework in general, ensuring the effective management of risk in areas within its remit. The committee allocates the management of specific risks to other relevant committees of Senate.

The committee’s terms of reference are reflected in the University of Sydney (Delegations of Authority – Administrative Functions) Rule 2016 (‘the Delegations’), and can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



Term of office

Chair appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (Not a staff or student Fellow)


Richard Freudenstein



Deputy Chancellor

 Current term as Deputy Chancellor

December 2017 – March 2020

Current term as Chair

January 2018– May 2020

Ex-officio members:


Belinda Hutchinson AM

Current term as Chancellor

February 2017 – February 2021

Previous term as Chancellor

February 2013 – February 2017


Dr Michael Spence AC

Current term as Vice-Chancellor

1 July 2013 – 31 December 2022

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor

11 July 2008 – 30 June 2013

Three Fellows of Senate appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor (one of whom must be a Fellow identified in section 8C(1)(b) of the University of Sydney Act 1989 (as amended) as having commercial expertise)


Professor Stephen Simpson AC

Current term

June 2019 – May 2021


Dr Lisa McIntyre

Current term

June 2019 – May 2021

Previous Term
June 2019 – May 2021


Francis Tamer

Current term

December 2018 – May 2019

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience, appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.


Tom Dery AO

Current term

January 2018 – May 2020 


Dr Thomas Barlow

Current term

January 2018 – May 2020




Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or of its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.


Jason Yat-sen Li

 Current term

January 2018 – May 2020



Professor Stephen Garton


Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Philippa Pattison AO


Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Duncan Ivison


Vice-Principal (Operations)

Stephen Phillips


Vice-Principal (Strategy)

Rebecca Murray


Chief Risk Officer

Nisha Graham


Director, Commercial Development and Industrial Partnerships

Dr Andrew Tindell


Academic Director, Charles Perkins Centre (CPC)

 Professor Stephen Simpson


Others determined by the Chair


2019 meeting dates

Meeting date


Friday 1 March

2.00pm - 5.00pm

Wednesday 17 April

2.00pm - 5.00pm

Wednesday 5 June

2.00pm - 6.00pm

Monday 15 July

9.30am - 12.30pm

Wednesday 28 August (Reserve)

2.00pm - 5.00pm (Reserve)

Friday 4 October

1.45pm - 5.45pm

Friday 15 November

1.30pm - 5.30pm


Committee Officer
Alex Breitsameter
T +61 2 8627 1331

Meeting agendas and papers

Current and historical meeting papers are available on Diligent.