Australian Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology (AINST) Board

The UE AINST Board held its final meeting on 11 December 2017. From January 2018 the AINST will be governed by the UE Multidisciplinary Initiatives Committee.

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The purpose of the Australian Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology Board was to:

  1. Provide input to the development and implementation of the AINST academic and operating arrangements, as set out in the AINST foundational documents.
  2. Assist in identifying priorities and monitor progress on program and project implementation with respect to the AINST education and research strategy and the provision of appropriate operational arrangements to support the successful, effective and efficient delivery of the strategy.
  3. Oversee strategic planning to strengthen engagement between faculties and external stakeholders with the AINST.
  4. Provide advice and assist in developing an AINST budget for consideration in the University budget process, including resource utilisation as articulated in the AINST Business Case.
  5. Identify and monitor potential risks related to AINST from a whole of university perspective and advise on appropriate mitigation actions.
  6. Provide advice on the management and resolution of issues as they arise, including those relating to the development and implementation of academic programs, engagement with stakeholders and provision of professional services to AINST, including the Sydney Nanoscience Hub building (Finance, Human Resources, Campus Infrastructure and Services, Information and Communications Technology, Marketing & Communications, Office of General Counsel).
  7. Report to UE on the development and implementation of the AINST and its progress against its agreed strategy and business case.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership





Chair and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Duncan Ivison

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Philippa Pattinson

Dean, Sydney Medical School

Professor Arthur Conigrave

Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies

Professor Archie Johnston

Dean, Faculty of Science

Professor Trevor Hambley

Director, Campus Infrastructure & Services

Greg Robinson

Chief Financial Officer (or nominee)

David Oosthuizen (CFO nominee)



Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Collaborations and Partnerships)

Professor Laurent Rivory

Director, Australian Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology 

Professor Susan Pond

Chief Operating Officer, Australian Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology

Dr Gunther Schmidt

2017 Meeting dates and submission timelines

Agenda Deadline

Agenda Papers Distributed

Meeting Date

Friday 27 January 2017

Monday 30 January 2017

Monday 6 February 2017

Wednesday 22 March 2017

Friday 24 March 2017

Friday 31 March 2017

Wednesday 24 May 2017

Friday 26 May 2017

Friday 2 June 2017

Wednesday 2 August 2017

Friday 4 August 2017

Friday 11 August 2017

Wednesday 4 October 2017

Thursday 5 October 2017

Thursday 12 October 2017

Thursday 30 November 2017

Monday 4 December 2017

Monday 11 December 2017

Committee contact

Committee Officer, University Secretariat
Tanya Gerrie
T +612 8627 1331

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure AINST Board SharePoint site.