Centre in China Steering Committee

The purpose of the Steering Committee is to oversee and guide the delivery of the China Strategy by the University of Sydney Centre in China.

The role of the Steering Committee will be to:

  • ensure the Centre in China is appropriately integrated with the University;
  • ensure that the University community sees opportunities and value in its engagement with the Centre in China; and
  • set and confirm the purposes and values of the Centre in China, and ensuring this aligns with the University’s own purposes and values.

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The UE Centre in China Steering Committee will:

  1. Oversee the University’s Centre Strategy and ensure delivery of its strategic objectives;
  2. Protect and enhance the University’s reputation in China and promote the University’s China vision;
  3. Review proposals and initiatives for partnerships and collaborations with respect to education and research activities in China that the Centre is contributing to;
  4. Develop and implement appropriate China strategies utilising the resources of the Centre and initiatives to enhance the University’s activities in China;
  5. Oversee alignment of the Centre’s work with the wider China Strategy and the University’s 2016 – 2020 Strategic Plan;
  6. Monitor the quality, effectiveness and alignment of the activities of the Centre in China and develop strategies for quality improvement;
  7. Monitor the University’s partnerships and relationships with Chinese Universities, Government and the business community;
  8. Provide advice to the University Executive on the Centre’s research and educational activities that support the University’s strategic priorities, in collaboration with the Academic Board and relevant Portfolios;
  9. Consult and refer to other University committees as required.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership





Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Stephen Garton (Chair)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Philippa Pattison

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Duncan Ivison

Vice-Principal (Strategy)

Rebecca Murray

Vice-Principal (Advancement)

Tim Dolan

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement)

Professor Katherine Belov

Executive Director, Centre in China

Cathryn Hlavka

Director, China Studies Centre

Professor Luigi Tomba

Director, Legal Services

Olivia Perks

Director, Marketing and Communications

Marian Theobald

Director, Financial Control and Treasury

David Wright

3 Faculty or University School Deans

Professor Gregory Whitwell

Dean, The University of Sydney Business School


Professor Joellen Riley

Head of School and Dean, The University of Sydney Law School


Professor Arthur Conigrave

Dean, The University of Sydney Medical School


As determined by the Chair when necessary.


2018 Meeting dates and submission timelines

Agenda Deadline

Meeting Date

Wednesday, 24 January

Thursday, 1 February

Wednesday, 18 April

Thursday, 26 April

Wednesday, 18 July

Thursday, 26 July

Wednesday, 17 October

Thursday, 25 October

Committee contact

Committee Officer
Tanya Gerrie
T +61 2 8627 1331

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure Centre in China Steering Committee SharePoint site.