Curriculum and Course Planning Committee

The University Executive Curriculum and Course Planning Committee (UE CCPC) will support the University to achieve its strategic aims by embedding research-enriched and community-engaged teaching and learning in a renewed curriculum; in furthering its social inclusion agenda; in recommending student load targets, and in overseeing the development and refinement of new and existing degree programs.

For detailed information about the course proposal development and submission process and the UE CCPC's role in this process, please see the following:

  1. Meeting dates and submission deadlines
  2. Course Proposal development and submission

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The purpose of UE Committees is to:

  1. Contribute to the ongoing development and implementation of University strategy;
  2. Review operational matters and consider business-as-usual matters;
  3. Consider planning and prioritisation proposals within the portfolio;
  4. Monitor performance against domain KPIs; and
  5. Be a conduit for institutional discussion and faculty discussions in the domain.

The UE Curriculum and Course Planning Committee will:

  1. Oversee the University’s curriculum reform agenda.
  2. Conduct an annual review of the student load and mix to ensure educational and financial sustainability, including proposing to UE University targets for recruitment and retention of low SES, Indigenous and rural and remote students.
  3. Monitor and report to UE on progress towards achieving the University’s commitment to attracting and supporting promising students from a diversity of social and cultural backgrounds.
  4. Provide expert input into the Work Slate projects on curriculum development, degree levels and pathways, and assessment.
  5. Support curriculum renewal and best practice throughout the University.
  6. Review degree programs and make recommendations to UE for appropriate reform and improvement.
  7. Collaborate with the Academic Board in the development of a cycle of regular faculty curriculum reviews.
  8. Assess the strategic fit, business case and appropriateness of all new degree proposals and make recommendations to UE as to whether these proposals should be sent to the Academic Board for approval.
  9. Oversee, monitor and approve all student fees for degree programs.

Relationship with University Executive:

  1. The UE Curriculum and Course Planning Committee will refer matters to the University Executive only if the matters have an impact on the responsibility of the other UE Committees, or the Chair considers the decision is of strategic importance; and
  2. The UE Curriculum and Course Planning Committee will report to the University Executive after each meeting.

Committee members have the responsibility to:

  1. Harness energy and lead activity within this portfolio domain; within Faculties and within University Schools;
  2. Contribute the perspectives of their Faculties and University schools to the Committee;
  3. Feed back to other UE Committees of which they are members, the decisions and discussion of the Committee; and
  4. Feed back to Faculties and University Schools the decisions and discussions of the Committee.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Co-Chair)

Professor Stephen Garton

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) (Co-Chair)

Professor Philippa Pattison AO

Chair, Academic Board

Associate Professor Anthony Masters

Chief Financial Officer

Eric Chan

Director, Financial Planning & Analysis (nominee)

Deputy Registrar (or nominee)

Edwina Grose

Head of Academic Model & Student Progression, Student Administration Services (nominee)

Director, Educational Innovation (or nominee)

Professor Adam Bridgeman

Executive Director, Global Student Recruitment & Mobility

Angela Watkins

Director, Institutional Analytics and Planning

Kubra Chambers

One nominee (Academic staff) from leadership teams of each Faculty and University school*

Professor Alyson Simpson (Semester 1, 2019)

Dr Bruce Isaacs (Semester 2, 2019)

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Associate Professor Catherine Hardy (Semester 1, 2019)

Professor Rae Cooper (Semester 2, 2019)

The University of Sydney Business School

Professor Pauline Ross

Faculty of Science

Professor Sue McAllister

Deputy Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Associate Professor Marjorie Valix

Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies

Professor Inam Haq

The University of Sydney Medical School

Associate Professor Tim Chen

Faculty of Pharmacy

Dr Jennifer Green

Sydney Nursing School

Dr Delyse Leadbeatter

Faculty of Dentistry

Associate Professor Jeanell Carrigan

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Professor Cameron Stewart

Associate Dean, Postgraduate Coursework, The University of Sydney Law School

Dr Adrienne Keane

Associate Dean Education, The University of Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning


General Counsel or nominee

Richard Fisher

Any others as determined by the Chair when necessary

*Until the implementation date of the new Faculty of Medicine and Health, wherever a Committee Terms of Reference refers to 6 Faculty Deans, Associate Deans, or Faculty General Managers, it shall be taken to mean those positions in: FASS, Business, Engineering and IT, Science, Health Sciences, Sydney Medical School, Sydney Nursing School, Pharmacy, and Dentistry.

Committee contact

Committee Officer
Dr Glenys Eddy
T +61 2 9351 8556

UE CCPC Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE CCPC SharePoint site.