Deans Working Group (UE DWG)

Terms of reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The UE Deans Working Group will operate as a discussion and advisory group on nuanced issues as they relate to Faculties and University Schools.

The UE Deans Working Group will provide a forum for the Vice-Chancellor and Provost to:

  1. Discuss issues that have come before the Senate or UE
  2. Raise concerns related to University strategy, operational and or business-as-usual matters as they relate to Faculties and University School
  3. Share presentations on key issues and activities effecting Faculties and University Schools
  4. Share pan-University issues as they relate to Faculties and University Schools, and
  5. Present and table early draft proposals for later consideration by UE.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



Vice-Chancellor & Principal (Chair)

Dr Michael Spence AC

Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Chair)

Professor Stephen Garton

Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Professor Annamarie Jagose

Executive Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Health

Professor Robyn Ward

Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies

Professor Willy Zwaenepoel

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Kathryn Refshauge 

Dean, Sydney Business School

Professor Gregory Whitwell

Dean, Faculty of Science

Professor Iain Young

Head of School and Dean, Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning 

Professor Robyn Dowling

Head of School and Dean, Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Professor Anna Reid

Acting Head of School and Dean, Sydney Law School

Professor Cameron Stewart


Any others as determined by the Chair when necessary

Meeting dates and deadlines

2019 meetings

Agenda items due

Agenda distributed

Meeting date



Wednesday 6 February 2019



Wednesday 10 April 2019



Wednesday 5 June 2019



Wednesday 14 August 2019



Wednesday 16 October 2019



Wednesday 4 December 2019

Committee contact

Committee Officer, University Secretariat
Alyssa White
T +61 2 8627 6905

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE DWG SharePoint site.