Multidisciplinary Initiatives Committee (UE MDI)

Terms of reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Commencing in January 2018, the UE MDI Committee will oversee six University MDIs which for purposes of meetings have been grouped as follows:


  • Brain and Mind Centre (BMC): focuses on mental health and neuroscience.
  • Charles Perkins Centre (CPC): focuses on obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disease.
  • Sydney Environment Institute (SEI): focuses on the relationship between humans and the natural world.


  • The University of Sydney Nano Institute (Sydney Nano): focuses on applying nanoscience and nanotechnologies to strategically identified sectors.
  • Centre for Translational Data Science (CTDS): focuses on applying data and machine learning technologies to strategically identified domains.
  • Sydney Policy Lab: focuses on applying policy research and policy translation expertise to a wide number of complex societal issues.

Other MDIs may be added to the committee as the University strategy matures.

Terms of Reference

The purpose of UE Committee is to:

  1. contribute to the ongoing development and implementation of University strategy
  2. review strategic matters
  3. consider planning and prioritisation proposals within the portfolio of the Chair, ie the Research Portfolio
  4. monitor performance against agreed KPIs, and
  5. be a conduit for institutional discussions and faculty discussions in the domain.

The UE MDI Committee has authority to:

  1. provide advice to the DVC (Research) and DVC (Education) on MDI-related matters, following the strategic direction agreed by the University Executive, and
  2. provide advice to the DVC (Research) and DVC (Education) on financial allocations to the limit of the DVC (Research) and DVC (Education) delegation, on proposals formally supported by the University budget process.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



Core members

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) (Chair)

Professor Duncan Ivison

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Philippa Pattison AO

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Laurent Rivory

Vice-Principal (Operations)

Stephen Phillips

Vice-Principal (External Relations)

Tania Rhodes-Taylor

Members for MDI I

Executive Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Health

Professor Robyn Ward

Dean, Faculty of Science

Professor Iain Young

Head of School and Dean, Sydney Law School (Nominee)

Professor Kimberlee Weatherall

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Kathy Refshauge

Faculty General Manager (FGM), Faculty of Engineering & IT (FEIT)

David Cox

FGM, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences (FASS)

Leah Hill

Members for MDI II

Executive Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Health

Professor Robyn Ward

Dean, FASS

Professor Annamarie Jagose

Head of School and Dean, Sydney Business School (Nominee)

Professor Elizabeth Cowley

Dean, FEIT

Professor Willy Zwaenepoel

(Acting) FGM, Faculty of Science

Sarah Gooch

Faculty of Medicine & Health (FMH) (Delegate)

Janine Richards

Core attendee


Associate Director, Strategic Collaborations Program

Kimberly dela Cruz Odom

Attendees for MDI I - 2x meetings each per year

Brain and Mind Centre

Co-Director, Health and Policy

Professor Ian Hickie

Co-Director Discovery and Translation

Professor Matthew Kiernan

Chief Operating Officer

Rod Gilroy

Charles Perkins Centre

Academic Director

Professor Stephen Simpson

Chief Operating Officer

Michael Milne

Sydney Environment Institute


Professor Iain McCalman


Professor David Schlosberg

Deputy Director

Michelle St Anne

Attendees for MDI II - 2x meetings each per year

Sydney Nano


Professor Ben Eggleton

Chief Operating Officer

Dr Gunther Schmidt

Centre for Translational Data Science


Professor Sally Cripps

Chief Operating Officer

Alexandra Bishop

Sydney Policy Lab


Professor Marc Stears

Project Manager

Lisa Fennis

Meeting dates and deadlines

2019 Meetings

Agenda items due

Agenda distributed

Meeting date

Monday 21 January 2019

Tuesday 22 January 2019

Tuesday 29 January 2019 (BMC – I)

2.30 – 4pm

Monday 11 February 2019

Tuesday 12 February 2019

Tuesday 19 February 2019 (SPL – II)

2 – 3.30pm

Thursday 14 March 2019

Friday 15 March 2019

Friday 22 March 2019 (CPC – I)

1.00 – 2.30pm

Friday 5 April 2019

Monday 8 April 2019

Monday 15 April 2019 (CTDS – II)

11am – 12.30pm

Friday 17 May 2019

Monday 20 May 2019

Monday 27 May 2019 (SEI – I)

2.30 – 4pm

Friday 7 June 2019

Monday 10 June 2019

Monday 17 June 2019 (Syd Nano – II)

3 – 4.30pm

Friday 28 June 2019

Monday 1 July 2019

Monday 8 July 2019 (BMC – I)

2.30 – 4pm

Friday 16 August 2019

Monday 19 August 2019

Monday 26 August 2019 (SPL – II)

12 – 1.30pm

Friday 6 September 2019

Monday 9 September 2019

Monday 16 September 2019 (CPC – I)

2.30 – 4pm

Friday 11 October 2019

Monday 14 October 2019

Monday 21 October 2019 (CTDS – II)

12 – 1.30pm

Friday 1 November 2019

Monday 4 November 2019

Monday 11 November 2019 (SEI – I)

2.30 – 4pm

Friday 29 November 2019

Monday 3 December 2019

Tuesday 10 December 2019 (Syd Nano – II)

1.30 – 3pm

Committee contact

Committee Officer, University Secretariat
Alex Breitsameter
T +612 8627 1331

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE MDI Committee SharePoint site.