Multidisciplinary Initiatives Committee (UE MDI)


Terms of reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers


Commencing in January 2018, the UE MDI Committee will oversee six University MDIs which for purposes of meetings have been grouped as follows:

UE MDI I:

  • Brain and Mind Centre (BMC): focuses on mental health and neuroscience.
  • Charles Perkins Centre (CPC): focuses on obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disease.
  • Sydney Environment Institute (SEI): focuses on the relationship between humans and the natural world.


UE MDI II:

  • The University of Sydney Nano Institute (Sydney Nano): focuses on applying nanoscience and nanotechnologies to strategically identified sectors.
  • Centre for Translational Data Science (CTDS): focuses on applying data and machine learning technologies to strategically identified domains.
  • Sydney Policy Lab: focuses on applying policy research and policy translation expertise to a wide number of complex societal issues.

Other MDIs may be added to the committee as the University strategy matures.

Terms of Reference

The purpose of UE Committee is to:

  1. contribute to the ongoing development and implementation of University strategy
  2. review strategic matters
  3. consider planning and prioritisation proposals within the portfolio of the Chair, ie the Research Portfolio
  4. monitor performance against agreed KPIs, and
  5. be a conduit for institutional discussions and faculty discussions in the domain.


The UE MDI Committee has authority to:

  1. provide advice to the DVC (Research) and DVC (Education) on MDI-related matters, following the strategic direction agreed by the University Executive, and
  2. provide advice to the DVC (Research) and DVC (Education) on financial allocations to the limit of the DVC (Research) and DVC (Education) delegation, on proposals formally supported by the University budget process.


The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.


Composition and membership

NAME

POSITION

Core members

Chair, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Duncan Ivison

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Philippa Pattison

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Laurent Rivory

Vice-Principal (Operations)

Stephen Phillips

Vice-Principal (External Relations)

Tania Rhodes-Taylor

Members for MDI I

Dean, Sydney Medical School

Professor Arthur Conigrave

Dean, Faculty of Science

Professor Iain Young

Head of School and Dean, Sydney Law School

Professor Joellen Riley

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Kathy Refshauge

Faculty General Manager (FGM), Faculty of Engineering & IT (FEIT)

David Cox

FGM, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences (FASS)

Leah Hill

Members for MDI II

Dean, Sydney Medical School

Professor Arthur Conigrave

Dean, FASS

Professor Annamarie Jagose

Head of School and Dean, Sydney Business School (Nominee)

Professor Elizabeth Cowley

Dean, FEIT

Professor Willy Zwaenepoel

(Acting) FGM, Faculty of Science

Sarah Gooch

Faculty or School senior manager representative

Vacant

Core attendee

 

Senior Project Management Officer (DVC Research Portfolio)

Kimberly dela Cruz Odom

 

Attendees for MDI I - 2x meetings each per year

Brain and Mind Centre

Co-Director, Health and Policy

Professor Ian Hickie

Co-Director Discovery and Translation

Professor Matthew Kiernan

Chief Operating Officer

Rod Gilroy

Charles Perkins Centre

Academic Director

Professor Stephen Simpson

Chief Operating Officer

Michael Milne

Sydney Environment Institute

Co-Director

Professor Iain McCalman

Co-Director

Professor David Schlosberg

Deputy Director

Michelle St Anne

 

Attendees for MDI II - 2x meetings each per year

Sydney Nano

Director

Professor Ben Eggleton

Chief Operating Officer

Dr Gunther Schmidt

Centre for Translational Data Science

Co-Director

Professor Sally Cripps

Co-Director

Associate Professor Fabio Ramos

Chief Operating Officer

Alexandra Bishop

Sydney Policy Lab

Director

Professor Marc Stears

Project Manager

Lisa Fennis


2018/ 2019 Meeting dates and submission timelines

2018 Meeting Dates:

Submission deadline to Chair

(2 weeks prior meeting)

Meeting Date

MDI I / II

Tuesday 16 January

Tuesday 30 January

II - CTDS

Thursday 22 February

Thursday 8 March

II - SPL

Tuesday 6 March 

Tuesday 20 March 

I - BMC 

Thursday 29 March

Thursday 12 April

I - CPC

Wednesday 16 May

Wednesday 30 May

II - SydneyNano

Thursday 31 May

Thursday 14 June

I - SEI

Tuesday 19 June

Tuesday 3 July

II - CTDS

Thursday 16 August

Thursday 30 August

I - BMC

Thursday 30 August

Thursday 13 September

II - SPL

Tuesday 9 October

Tuesday 23 October

I - CPC

Thursday 1 November

Thursday 15 November

II - SydneyNano

Thursday 29 November

Thursday 13 December

I - SEI

2019 Meeting Dates:

Submission deadline to Chair

(2 weeks prior meeting)

Meeting Date

MDI I / II

Tuesday 15 January

Tuesday 29 January

I - BMC

Tuesday 5 February

Tuesday 19 February

II - SPL

Wednesday 20 February

Wednesday 6 March

I - CPC

Monday 1 April

Monday 15 April

II - CTDS

Monday 13 May

Monday 27 May

I - SEI

Monday 3 June

Monday 17 June

II - SydneyNano

Monday 24 June

Monday 8 July

I - BMC

Monday 12 August

Monday 26 August

II - SPL

Monday 2 September

Monday 16 September

I - CPC

Monday 7 October

Monday 21 October

II - CTDS

Monday 28 October

Monday 11 November

I - SEI

Tuesday 26 November

Tuesday 10 December

II - SydneyNano


Committee contact

Committee Officer, University Secretariat
Alex Breitsameter
T +612 8627 1331
E alexandra.breitsameter@sydney.edu.au


Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE MDI Committee SharePoint site.