Research Education Committee

The University Executive (UE) Research Education Committee will develop strategies, policies and procedures and coordinate activity across the University to enhance research education throughout all undergraduate and graduate programs. This shall include undergraduate honours programs and all higher degrees by research.


Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The purpose of UE Committees is to:

  1. Contribute to the ongoing development and implementation of University strategy;
  2. Review operational matters and consider business-as-usual matters;
  3. Consider planning and prioritisation proposals within the portfolio;
  4. Monitor performance against domain KPIs; and
  5. Be a conduit for institutional discussion and faculty discussions in the domain.

The UE Research Education Committee will:

  1. Monitor performance across the University in research education, and develop strategies to improve outcomes in this area, particularly as they relate to embedding opportunities for research experience in teaching and learning. The committee will also identify and promote best practice across the University in relation to research training and support for HDR students.
  2. Provide advice to the University Executive on research training strategies and on other matters relating to the experience of undergraduate honours and higher-degree-by-research students and the administration of their candidature.
  3. Review the University’s PhD program.
  4. Work to enhance the pathways to higher degrees by research.
  5. Develop policies and procedures to improve the experience of higher-degree-by-research (HDR) students, the framework for research training and the facilities required to achieve the University’s goals with respect to HDR education.
  6. Oversee development of coordinated faculty and University-wide programs for research supervisor induction, and for research supervisor training and mentoring at all career stages.
  7. Recommend to the University Executive improved models for the allocation of income from research students, consistent with the University Economic Model. Monitor resource allocation and costs for higher degrees by research.
  8. Oversee management of risk in research education to ensure risks are managed within the University’s agreed appetite and tolerance levels, and escalate to the University Executive those risks that are outside of the Committee’s remit to resolve.

The UE Research Education Committee has the authority to:

  1. Make decisions on matters within the research education portfolio, following the strategic direction agreed to by the University Executive;
  2. Make recommendations on financial allocation to the limit of the DVC (Research) delegation, on proposals formally supported by the BRT process.

Relationship with University Executive:

  1. The UE Research Education Committee will refer matters to the University Executive only if the matters have an impact on the responsibility of the other UE Committees, or the Chair considers the decision is of strategic importance;
  2. The UE Research Education Committee will refer financial decisions to the University Executive above the DVC (Research) delegation; and
  3. The UE Research Education Committee will report to the University Executive after each meeting.

Committee members have the responsibility to:

  1. Harness energy and lead activity within this portfolio domain; within Faculties and within University Schools;
  2. Contribute the perspectives of their Faculties and University Schools to the Committee;
  3. Feed back to other UE Committees of which they are members, the decisions and discussion of the Committee; and
  4. Feed back to Faculties and University Schools the decisions and discussions of the Committee.


The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.


Composition and membership

Position

Member

Members

 

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Education

Professor Philippa Pattison (Co-Chair)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research

Professor Duncan Ivison (Co-Chair)

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement)

Professor Katherine Belov

Director, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Research, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy and Services)

Professor Jakelin Troy

Chair, Academic Board (or nominee)

Associate Professor Anthony Masters

Director, Graduate Research

Associate Professor Ross Coleman

6 Faculty Associate Deans (Research Education)*

Associate Professor Ruth Phillips

Associate Dean Research Education, Faculty of Arts of Social Sciences

 

Associate Professor Javid Atai

Associate Dean Research Education, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies

 

Associate Professor Samuel Mueller

Associate Dean Research Education, Faculty of Science

 

Associate Professor Martin Mackey

Associate Dean Research Education, Faculty of Health Sciences

 

Professor Eddie Anderson

Associate Dean Research Education, The University of Sydney Business School

 

Associate Professor Victoria Cogger

Associate Dean (HDR), The University of Sydney Medical School

 

Professor David Hibbs

Postgraduate Coordinator, Faculty of Pharmacy

 

Associate Professor Thomas Buckley

Postgraduate Coordinator (Research), Sydney Nursing School

 

Adjunct Professor Neil Hunter

Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Dentistry

3 University school Associate Deans (Research Education)

Associate Professor Lee Stickells

Associate Dean Research Education, The University of Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning

 

Associate Professor Kathleen Nelson

Associate Dean Research Education, Sydney Conservatorium of Music  

 

Associate Professor Shae McCrystal  

Associate Dean Research Education, The University of Sydney Law School

2 Heads of School (including a minimum of 1 from a University school)

Professor Brian Uy

Head of School, School of Civil Engineering

 

Professor John Redmond

Head of School and Dean, The University of Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning

2 student representatives nominated by the SRC and SUPRA

Rebecca Johnson
 

Oliver Moore

Attendees

 

Head of the HDR Administration Centre

Dr George Carayannopoulos

Director of Research Integrity and Ethics Administration, Research Integrity and Ethics Administration

Dr Rebecca Halligan

Associate Director, Product, Global Student Recruitment and Mobility

Judith Kingston

Senior Policy and Project Officer, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Veronica Le Nevez

Policy/Project Officer, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Hugh O'Dwyer

Any others as determined by the Chair when necessary

 


*For the calendar 2017, wherever a Committee Terms of Reference refers to 6 Faculty Deans, Associate Deans, or Faculty Managers, it shall be taken to mean those positions in: FASS, Business, Engineering and IT, Science, Health Sciences, Sydney Medical School, Sydney Nursing School, Pharmacy, and Dentistry.


2017 Meeting dates and submission timelines

Meeting dates for 2017

 

 

Agenda Deadline

Agenda Papers Distributed

Meeting Date

Tuesday, 24 January 2017

Wednesday, 25 January 2017

Wednesday, 1 February 2017

Tuesday, 28 February 2017

Wednesday, 1 March 2017

Wednesday, 8 March 2017

Tuesday, 28 March 2017

Wednesday, 29 March 2017

Wednesday, 5 April 2017

Tuesday, 25 April 2017

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

Wednesday, 3 May 2017

Tuesday, 23 May 2017

Wednesday, 24 May 2017

Wednesday, 31 May 2017

Tuesday, 4 July 2017

Wednesday, 5 July 2017

Wednesday 12 July 2017

Tuesday, 25 July 2017

Wednesday, 26 July 2017

Wednesday, 2 August 2017

Tuesday, 29 August 2017

Wednesday, 30 August 2017

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

Wednesday, 4 October 2017

Tuesday, 31 October 2017

Wednesday, 1 November 2017

Wednesday, 8 November 2017

Tuesday, 28 November 2017

Wednesday, 29 November 2017

Wednesday, 6 December 2017



2018 Meeting dates and submission timelines

Meeting dates for 2018

 

Agenda Deadline

Meeting Date

Monday, 29 January 2018

Wednesday, 7 February 2018

Monday, 26 February 2018

Wednesday, 7 March 2018

Monday, 26 March 2018

Wednesday, 4 April 2018

Monday, 30 April 2018

Wednesday, 9 May 2018

Monday, 28 May 2018

Wednesday, 6 June 2018

Monday, 25 June 2018

Wednesday 4 July 2018

Monday, 23 July 2018

Wednesday, 1 August 2018

Monday, 27 August 2018

Wednesday, 5 September 2018

Monday, 24 September 2018

Wednesday, 3 October 2018

Monday, 29 October 2018

Wednesday, 7 November 2018

Thursday, 22 November 2018

Monday, 3 December 2018

Committee contact

Committee Officer, University Secretariat
Natalie Zawerucha
T +612 9351 4316
E


Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE REC SharePoint site.