Student Life Committee

The purpose of the UE Student Life Committee is to contribute to the ongoing development and implementation of University strategy as it relates to student life and to:

  1. Review operational matters and consider business-as-usual matters; and
  2. Be a conduit for institutional discussion and faculty discussions in the domain.

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The UE Student Life Committee will:

  1. Discuss opportunities for improvement in student welfare matters;
  2. Consider and discuss student life operational matters;
  3. Provide input into planning for student life matters;
  4. Monitor the University’s performance on student life matters against the KPIs; and
  5. Assist with the formulation of risk appetites and tolerances germane to student life matters.

The UE Student Life Committee has the authority to:

  1. Provide advice on matters within the student life portfolio, following the strategic direction agreed to by the University Executive.

Relationship with University Executive:

  1. The UE Student Life Committee will refer matters to the University Executive only if the matters have an impact on the responsibility of the other UE Committees, or the Chair considers decision is of strategic importance; and
  2. The UE Student Life Committee will report to the University Executive after each meeting.

Committee members have the responsibility to:

  1. Harness energy and lead activity within this portfolio domain; within Faculties and within University Schools;
  2. Contribute the perspectives of their Faculties and University Schools to the Committee;
  3. Feed back to other UE Committees of which they are members, the decisions and discussion of the Committee; and
  4. Feed back to Faculties and University Schools the decisions and discussions of the Committee.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership





Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Registrar)

Professor Tyrone Carlin (Chair)

Deputy Registrar

Brendon Nelson

Director, Student Support Services

Jordi Austin

Director, Library Services

Anne Bell

6 Faculty Associate Deans*

Dr Carolyn Stott

Associate Dean, Student Life, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences


Associate Professor John O'Byrne

Associate Dean, Student Life, Faculty of Science 


Associate Professor Tim Wilkinson

Associate Dean, Student Life, Faculty of Engineering & Information Technologies 


Dr Alexander Holden

Faculty of Dentistry (nominee)


Dr Hien Duong

Faculty of Pharmacy (nominee)


Associate Professor Mark McEntee

Associate Dean, Student Life, Faculty of Health Sciences


 Dr Suzanne Ollerenshaw

The University Sydney Medical School (nominee)


 Dr Jennifer Green

Associate Dean, Sydney Nursing School (nominee)


 To be advised

Associate Dean, The University of Sydney Business School

3 University School Associate Deans

Associate Professor Jamie Glister

Associate Dean, Student Life, The University of Sydney Law School


Sue Newsome, Lecturer in Woodwind

Sydney Conservatorium of Music (nominee)


To be advised

Sydney School of Architecture, Design & Planning

5 Heads of School (minimum 1 from a University School)

Professor Diane Mayer

Head of School and Dean, The University of Sydney School of Education and Social Work


Professor Chris Peck

Dean, Faculty of Dentistry (nominee)


Professor John Shields

Deputy Dean (Education), The University of Sydney Business School (nominee)





Student Representative(s)

Ivana Radix(nominee)

Student Representative Council

Mariam Mohammed

Co-President, Sydney University Postgraduate Representative Association

Courtney Thompson

President, University of Sydney Union



DVC (Registrar) portfolio directors as required by the Chair.

Judith Kingston

Executive Director(Acting), Global Student Recruitment

Leo Falcone

Executive Director

Any others as determined by the Chair when necessary



*For the calendar year 2017, wherever a Committee Terms of Reference refers to 6 Faculty Deans, Associate Deans, or Faculty Managers, it shall be taken to mean those positions in: FASS, Business, Engineering and IT, Science, Health Sciences, Sydney Medical School, Sydney Nursing School, Pharmacy, and Dentistry.

2017 Meeting dates and submission timelines

Meeting dates for 2017

 Agenda Papers Deadline

 Agenda Papers Distributed

 Meeting Date

 Monday 20 March 2017

 Tuesday 21 March 2017

 Wednesday 29 March 2017

 Friday 30 June 2017

 Monday 3 July 2017

 Tuesday 11 July 2017

 Monday 18 September 2017

 Tuesday 19 September 2017

 Tuesday 26 September 2017

 Friday 10 November 2017

 Monday 13 November 2017 

 Monday 20 November 2017

Committee contact

Committee Officer, University Secretariat
Susan Parker
T +612 8627 8521

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE SLC SharePoint site.